Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

We Apologise for the Break in Transmission

30 Comments

Readers, I have lost my blogging mojo. I don’t know where it’s gone. It may be in the pile of administration that I have set aside to get through this week. It may be in the pile of laundry I mentioned in my last post. It may be that my mother has just arrived from South Africa and I want to spend all my spare minutes with her, because I love and miss her so.

I am also grieving. My very young and spirited aunt went into hospital in Johannesburg four weeks ago, where it was discovered that she had leukaemia. She died last Tuesday. Her memorial service was on Monday and I wasn’t able to be there, but my mother and my brother were. He led the tributes to my aunt, saying “her spirit will live on in her two beautiful daughters”. My heart breaks for the two girls, and their father, who now have to learn to live with memories.

So, my friends, you will be patient with me while I take a small blogging break. I know I’ve been tagged for two memes, and I promise to come back and play soon. In the meanwhile, I will continue to read, possibly comment now and again. I will be enjoying my mother’s company, watching how much she loves my children and quietly mourning my aunt.

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

30 thoughts on “We Apologise for the Break in Transmission

  1. Enjoy visiting with your mom and *hugs* about your aunt. See you when you get back!

  2. Take all the time you need. I hope you find much solace with your loved ones — and I hope the same for your aunt’s immediate family as well.

    We’ll still be here!

  3. Hugs from here to you. I’m so sorry about your aunt – that is so sudden and for you to be so far from your family makes it harder for you. I’m glad your mother is able to visit you. Lots of Love.

  4. See, we all need a break when life starts throwing plates. I’m very sorry for your loss. I hope your time with your mother is heart-warming and heart-soothing. We promise not to take the toy-box away while you’re gone.

  5. Sorry to hear your sad news. I know it’s stating the obvious but sometimes life is just so hard and unfair. Take the time you need and see you on the other side.

  6. I’m sorry. That always sucks.

  7. I’m so sorry, Charlotte. I do truly empathize with you. We will be here when you get back.

  8. Hugs from here, too. I know how hard it is to lose someone you love, so suddenly. Take all the time you need to be with your mother and to say goodbye to your aunt.

  9. Take care of yourself, Charlotte. I am sorry for your loss.

  10. Yes, take a break, Charlotte — we’ll certainly be here when you get back. I’m so sorry about your aunt.

  11. Oh Charlotte, sorry to hear!

    My condolences to you and your family.

  12. I’m so sorry, Charlotte. You do what’s right for you and I’m pretty sure the Mojo will look you up when the time is right.

  13. I’m sorry Charlotte. I lost one cousin to leukemia and have another who has been fighting it for four years. It’s a beastly disease.

    Be well and enjoy your mother’s company. I’ll be thinking of you.

  14. It would not be right if blogging kept you a single minute away from your mother or your aunt. I am certain you’ll have lots to write about afterwards. If you have, we’ll be here. If you don’t, we’ll be here too.

  15. lots of hugs and kisses to you and your mom!

  16. Oh Charlotte… let me add my hug to everyone else’s. Take care of yourself and your family, and come back when it seems like it might be fun to do so.

    Love

    Aphra.

  17. I’m so sorry, Charlotte. It must be so hard to be so far away. I’ll be thinking of you.

  18. oh Charlotte, no wonder you’ve lost your blogging mojo. It’s great that your mom is with you, you can grieve together and be a comfort to one another. Lots of hugs. We’ll still be here when you want to come back.

  19. I’m sorry to hear about your aunt, Charlotte. It must have been such a terrible shock. I hope you and your family are doing OK under the circumstances.

  20. I’m so sorry, Charlotte. Your family needs you now.

  21. Hi Charlotte,

    I am so sorry about recent events. I hope you and Toni have a wonderful time together. I know how she misses your energy and the little ones. I lost a friend in a car accident last week, and I have come to the conclusion that speaking fondly is probably the best medicine.
    Also, hopefully you’ll find out more about what the pair of them are up to next year as Pete is a closed book. Much Love Guy

  22. Charlotte,
    So sorry to hear about your aunt. I’m glad your mother is there to hug you. Sometimes it only is “mother” that can make things okay. Praying for you…

  23. From one who lost her Mother, two years ago, and then her Aunt last month — I send you light. Cherish this time.

  24. I’m so sorry to hear that. Look after yourself, will check in. Come back soon!

  25. Charlotte, I’m glad you have your mother there with you. More hugs to you from us here in New York.

    And don’t worry about the mojo: it’s just resting. You’re too good to lose it!

  26. Hugs and love from Missouri, Charlotte. Go and heal, and your mojo will find you once again. Meanwhile, we will be here waiting for your return.

  27. I’m so sorry, Charlotte.

  28. Sorry to hear your sad news Charlotte.

    Your writing will be missed but no hurry ~ in your own time.

  29. Oh Charlotte, how awful for you. It’s at times like this that you realise the little fiction you weave for yourself (i.e. that you’re not that far – it’s only a 12 hour flight) doesn’t realyl hold much water. In some ways you may as well be on the moon. I lost my mom while I was over here because my dad was too scared to “worry” me by telling me that things were getting worse. You are so lucky to have your mom over here with you for now – hope you can provide some solace for each other.

    I shortly be announcing on my blog that I’m running the Race for Life again this year to raise funds for cancer research. My beloved sister-in-law’s sister Gail had a mastectomy about a fortnight ago and will be starting chemotherapy on 21 May. I’ll be running for her, for your aunt, for my friend Christelle that I lost in December 2005 and everybody like them.

    Take all the time you need – we’ll all be here when you return.

  30. So sorry to hear about your aunt. That’s terrible. I’m late commenting due to a small hiatus in my blogging mojo too, so I entirely sympathise.

Leave a Reply

