Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

An American Frau Interviews Me

24 Comments

Remember the Interview Meme? It’s coming around again, just like the old Random Things About Me meme that’s turned up on Facebook recently and caused the Times Online to write a whole article about it. Really, do these journalists have nothing better to do than nose about on people’s Facebook pages and write about phenomena that are decades old in blogging terms? Anyway, this old blogging dinosaur decided to get herself interviewed again, and the lovely American Frau has offered up her questions. If you would like to be interviewed by me, say so in the comments below. If you would like some rules, they are up at the end of the post.

The Interview

1. What brought you to where you live now? Where do you see yourself living ten years from now?

I live in the Burg, Germany, and we were brought here by my husband’s burning desire to return to Germany after a stint in London, and a great offer back at his former employer. The Burg is a small town of 10,000 people where everybody knows everybody else’s business and what they have in their bins. Lace curtains are de rigeur, and since we are without, we are regarded as the strange foreigners who are never going to fit in. Believe me, we will NOT be fitting in nor living here in 10 years’ time. We dream of Berlin, Barcelona, Melbourne – but it’s all fantasy and we truly have no idea where we will be.

2. Why did you start blogging? How many other blogs do you read a day?

I started blogging because I like attention! I also like writing. My husband started a blog and I thought, “If he can do it, then so can I.” So I did, and now I’m heading for my third year of blogging. I have 143 blogs in my feedreader, which I check daily and sometimes – embarrassingly – two or three times a day. I am not always a committed commenter, but I am a committed reader.

3. Describe your ideal weekend.

On Friday afternoon, I go for a walk on Robberg Beach, Plettenberg Bay, and see the whales. That night, I have dinner in Cape Town with all my lovely friends, including the ones from Durban and Johannesburg who have flown down to be with me. On Saturday morning, I go shopping in Paris with my mother and that night I go to a concert in London with my husband and our friends G and B who have flown in from Dubai. Sunday morning finds my love and me brunching in Berlin – probably in the Tiergarten – with our mates and then we go strolling in Prenzlauer Berg and doing some idle window-shopping. By Sunday night I am cuddled up at home with my darlings, eating a delicious meal cooked by someone else and watching a DVD together, before I kiss them all and put them to bed.

4. Name another culture besides your own that you find fascinating and tell us why.

I can’t name a particular culture, but I love the way Italians are so loyal to their regional food traditions. I’d love to live in a culture that combined that with French style, British humour, American enthusiasm, South African hospitality, Irish wit, Polish warmth, Argentinian banter, Indian humility and lascivious South American dancing. Seeing I’m making up a culture here, I’d like one without misogyny, and no dominant groups with privileges over other groups. Basically Utopia with good food and sexy dancing.

5. What flavour of ice-cream are you?

Lime and coconut: sharp and tangy, nutty and sweet.

Whoops! Forgot the rules. Here they are:

1. If you want to be interviewed, leave me a comment, and I will send you some questions.
2. Update your blog with the answers to the questions and link back to the original post.
3. Include the rules in your post.

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

24 thoughts on “An American Frau Interviews Me

  1. This is a meme I’ver never done before, surprisingly. Sign me up, please!

    143 blogs, eh? I thought *I* had a lot!

  2. I can’t think of anything worse than lace curtains in a kitchen!
    Sounds like fun!

  3. Amity, I am thinking of your questions already!

    Natalian, are you volunteering to be interviewed?

    Anyone else? Come on, I’m journalist, I love asking people questions …

  4. Sign me up! It will be nice to have a post without food or racism as the subject!

  5. Me, please! I’d love some questions.

    Your ideal weekend sounds pretty amazing – I can’t think of anything better than instant travel like that! And your Utopian culture too.

  6. I can’t believe I haven’t seen this meme before either. I would love an “interview”!

    143 blogs! That is a lot of reading. I am impressed. Also, love your ideal weekend. I’d like to tag along!

  7. I’m all for that utopia you describe. When you find it, let me know, okay? (And what a fun interview — thanks for posting it.)

  8. 143 blogs! And I thought my 40 something were too much! Impressive.

    P.S. I am hosting the next round of Strange Shores. I am posting this announcement tomorrow. If you want to participate with another one of your funny stories, you can put the link in my comment section 🙂

  9. Those are great questions! I offered to interview an author friend of mine on my blog, and then have continued to chicken out because I feel like all the questions I thought of are too boring. But you, I know, are a great interviewer!

  10. You check your feedreader only two or three times a day? Very restrained.

  11. Absolutely! Interview me please!

  12. What G said. You can sign me up too, even though I usually run for cover from memes.
    Your ideal weekend sounds fun, but pretty exhausting. Or do your weekends go on for 10 days?

  13. Great answers – that is such a cosmopolitan weekend you have planned!

  14. Wow, it takes all kinds to make a world. I like British food, Irish style, Swiss humour, German warmth, American banter, French humility and lascivious Polish dancing. I’d love some interview questions.

  15. Can I please come along on your perfect weekend?? I promise to provide the “delicious meal cooked by somebody else”….! You left out finding a pansyshell on your Robberg walk 🙂

    And oh, what the hell, interview me! Might not get round to it for a while, so no rush 🙂

  16. Is it really called the Burg? I mean it’s just too perfect a name!

  17. I would love it if you interviewed me, but do you have time???? With all these other folks signed up??

  18. Pingback: An Interview… « Twaddle & Twak

  19. Hello there… just stumbled upon your fun blog! I didn’t realise there was a town called “Berg” – I used to spent a lot of time in Nürburg playing with cars and I thought it just meant “castle”. Well, hey, maybe it does. Anyway, this cross-continental post and the British husband made me wonder whether you’d like a book I wrote about British slang. Most of the content is on the web page linked here, but if you can get me a postal address I’d be delighted to send you a copy of the book. I couldn’t work out how to email you, hence the rather odd comment. 🙂

  20. I ruminate (because pense is not in the spell check)…..sounds like an interesting concept and would love to be part of your plan.

  21. Pingback: Charlotte’s Interview Meme « Johnsilb’s Blog

  22. Ooooh, just saw this. Sign me up, buttercup. If you feel like it. 😀 Give me the weird leftover questions.

  23. I’d love to join you for your ideal weekend. Meanwhile, as much as I’d love to have you interview me again, since I did it first go-round, I’ll skip this time and let you interview others.

  24. Pingback: In Which Yogamum is Interviewed by a Real Live Journalist « yoga gumbo

Leave a comment