Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

Just So Easy Afro-Teutonic Beer Bread

9 Comments

The lovely Jeanne has tagged me to take part in Breadline Africa’s Worldwide Blogger Bake-Off. According to Jeanne, Breadline Africa is a:

South African-based charity that is seeking to put a lasting end to poverty South Africa (and further afield in Africa) by breaking the cycle of poverty and helping comunities to achieve long-term self-sustainability. Breadline Africa was founded in 1993 when a group of community and social workers in South Africa (who had first-hand knowledge of the uniquely African problems that they faced) formed an alliance with like-minded colleagues in Europe (who were well-placed to source donations in valuable foreign currency). Armed with this unique combination of skills, Breadline Africa has been able to raise funds in Europe and use their local knowledge to identify which small, ground-level projects in Africa are most likely to succeed with a financial boost.

On Blog Action Day, Breadline Africa launched their Worldwide Blogger Bake-Off campaign. The aim is to raise $1 million in funds for a project to convert shipping containers into locations for food production and distribution in Africa. It is hoped that these sustainable community kitchens will not only provide food such as bread and soup to those in need, but also opportunities for skills development within poor communities.

So how does the Breadline Africa Worldwide Blogger Bake Off Campaign work?

Quite simply: bake bread, give dough. You can sign up for the campaign, make a donation, upload your bread recipes and document your culinary adventures in the media centre to spread the word. Bloggers can go even further by downloading the Blogger Bake-off widget and tagging five other bloggers to do the same – which I have done. My five tagged bloggers are:

1. Alida of Here We Go … Again

2. Helen of A Was Alarmed

3. The Very Wise Mandarine

4. Herschelian of The 3 Rs.

5. Tanya of Just Me

And now, to the bread …

The thing is, though I bake, I don’t make bread. Being good South Africans, we barbeque or braai, all the way through summer. I have a way with salads, and desserts, and Germany’s Top Husband does his thing at the grill, but our repertoire has never included bread. However, two summers ago, I borrowed a South African beer bread recipe from Jeanne because it was just so easy. The original recipe called for thyme and cheddar cheese, but since neither were available to me, I replaced them with rosemary and Emmenthaler, bringing a lovely German twist to a South African recipe. Unfortunately I have never photographed it, but I assure you it looks and smells as delicious as it tastes. There are never any leftovers, because everyone ADORES it. Try it, and preen at your new-found skills!

The Just So Easy Afro-Teutonic Beer Bread Recipe

Ingredients:

500g self-raising flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

125g Emmenthaler cubed

340ml beer

50ml water

1 tablespoon of fresh rosemary chopped

Maldon (or kosher) salt to sprinkle

Method:

Preheat oven to 180°.

Grease a small loaf tin.

Sift flour and salt into a mixing bowl.

Stir in beer, cheese, water, rosemary.

Mix until all the flour is moistened the dough forms a consistent mass.

Transfer to loaf tin, sprinkle with salt and place in oven.

Test with skewer after one hour and if it comes clean, remove from the oven.

Eat with large slabs of butter and thank me. Oh, and Jeanne too.

(PS After an hour’s struggling, I am giving up trying to upload the widget. I will return when I have more strength. But in the meanwhile, please click, donate, bake bread, vote for my recipe or do something to help raise people out of poverty. Thank you.)

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

9 thoughts on “Just So Easy Afro-Teutonic Beer Bread

  1. what a lovely idea – i’ll be trying out this recipe for sure!

  2. Wohoo! I’m in! I’ll be uploading the recipe and posting it, so be sure to check it out. Thanks.

  3. Hi..you have a great informative food blog. Will try this great recipes ! Just added and “faved” you. Hope you can add Our Food Recipes. Thank you

  4. I’ve never made this beer bread before for a braai. I’m going to have to try it, now our braai season is upon us. Plus it has to be a good idea to have a recipe on hand that can be ready quickly, for when I forget to bake and discover there’s nothing for lunch … which usually leaves us feasting on cream crackers and cheese.

  5. Practical question for those of us in Germany: what type of flour do you buy here if the recipe calls for self-raising?

    I’ll try to find a bread recipe that’s new and offer one to them.

  6. Hi again Charlotte,

    Following your baking powder tip and printing out your recipe, I made the cheddar-cheese beer bread this morning using fresh thyme from a big pot on our balcony.

    Rave reviews from my wife and daughter!!! I loved it too. 🙂
    Thanks to you and Jeanne!

  7. Yaaaaay, you made it to the bread baking party! That’s fantastic, and I love what you’ve done with my recipe 🙂 If only all fusion food tasted this good…

  8. Pingback: mandarine » Blog Archive » Plain old French bread recipe

  9. I still like making this bread, and pass the recipe on to friends who bake. Making another two loaves this morning! 🙂

Leave a comment