Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

The Not-So-Famous Five

5 Comments

Jill has kindly leapt in with inspiration on this grey Sunday. I have to do her Five Post Meme, which means I must:

1. Post five links to five of your previously written posts, relating each to the key words family, friends, yourself, your love and anything you like.
2. Tag five other friends to do this meme. Try to tag at least two new acquaintances (if not, your current blog buddies will do) so that you get to know them each a little bit better.
3. Don’t forget to read the archived post and leave comments.

My mother and stepfather are about to move in with my brother, who is a tenant in the house where my father grew up. The Hermitage is a part of who I am – a store of sensory memories, redolent of happy times and sad ones. I am pleased that it is still there and will be receiving my mother’s loving touch.

Long ago (about 10 years in blog time) I wrote about my different categories of friends – old friends, new friends, Mummy friends, blog friends. Here is my ode to friendship.

Here’s a post on how my interest in cooking developed from boiling pasta four times a week to something a little more challenging.

Having spent the best part of the last two days in bed sleeping off the Siberian perma-headache and its mate the green and crusty eye, I have to say thanks to my husband who is a superstar.

As we head into the family season of multiple birthdays, Christmas and more birthdays, I am always relieved that the German style of celebrating children’s birthdays is calm, sane and sensible. It’s more about having fun than eating, more about crafting something interesting than receiving expensive gifts. Here’s my post on Birthday Party Madness.

I’m going to tag five new friends:

Alida

Texasgurl

Velocibadgergirl

Amanda at Age-Old Songs

Chantelle in the Quiet Room

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

5 thoughts on “The Not-So-Famous Five

  1. Ooh, I am in, but it will take me a couple days.

    The funny thing about your German birthday party post is that it is exactly what I remember birthday parties during my childhood in the US being. What the heck happened?

  2. I was just thinking about composing an ode to my husband. Reading yours made me a bit sniffly, so I think it’s time. Thanks!

  3. Oooh, thanks for the tag. Usually I’m not terribly into memes, but I like the idea of linking to old posts, because sometimes I feel sad that three weeks after I write something, no one ever reads it again! =)

  4. Oh no! I’ve been saying I have to learn how to link…can you believe I don’t know how? Now I must. I’ll do it but later this week, once I get some instructions.

  5. Thanks for the tag! I posted mine today 🙂

Leave a comment