Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

Buy Nothing Day

9 Comments

Today is Buy Nothing Day! According to the website:

It’s a day where you challenge yourself, your family and friends to switch off from shopping and tune into life. The rules are simple, for 24 hours you will detox from consumerism and live without shopping. Anyone can take part provided they spend a day without spending!

The only thing I need to buy today is butter, for a cake I was going to make tomorrow. Any tips on butterless cakes?

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

9 thoughts on “Buy Nothing Day

  1. Ah.

    In the fridge we have, err, six eggs, about a thimbleful of milk, one celeriac root and a bendy carrot.

    I had been planning to do this (Buy Nothing Day), but I think I’ve mistimed my food-shopping rather drastically, by the simple method of forgetting it was this weekend.

    Good luck with the butterless cake. I know a ‘fatless sponge’ is a possibility. There must be a recipe somewhere on the Internet.

    Mr Reed says thank you very much for the birthday wishes.

  2. Ooops! I didn’t know about it – too late – I’ve indulged in an orgy of buying 1.5 litres of unpasteurised, unspun honey from the Camphill bakery this morning – a bargain at R70, which should keep me in baking honey for my bread for a month or two.

    Good luck with your butterless cake! You could make something like raisin and cinnamon bread, using milk to make it soft and almost cakey.

  3. I like Buy Nothing Today day. I will do that. Now, the butterless cake — maybe a bit of light olive oil — and they say 3 tablespoons of flaxseed equals one tablespoon of butter in recipes?

  4. I think food should be exempt from BND. After all, you can live without all the toys and such much easier than you can without groceries.

    BTW, I love to bake and only use canola oil in cakes, never butter. If you want me to send you some recipes, I’d be glad to oblige.

  5. We always observe Buy Nothing Day, because it’s really just a nightmare day to go out anywhere in the US. However we did make exceptions this year to buy normal household things like food, cat litter, etc. But no malls, no Christmas gifts, nothing we can’t live without!

    Kit: I’ll forgive you the Camphill honey. We get BD honey from the garden next door, and it is worth it!

  6. I observe buy nothing day quite regularly. I don’t feel a need to dedicate a particular day to it. We are far too happy to buy anything anytime for no particular good reason other than we saw it on TV. Otherwise, Taco Bell and McDonalds would not be multimillion dollar enterprises. And no one would Drink coke.

  7. I’ve never come across Buy Nothing Day, though I like the idea of distinguishing between food and non-food shopping for a day. That would make the point about the difference between needs and wants, and make it far more clearly.

    I must admit that my first reactions was “but most of my days are buy nothing days” – I park a distance from work so I park for free and I take tea and sarnies in with me so I don’t buy from the canteen. I get my veggies and milk delivered – does that count as buying or not-buying? It should certainly count as supporting local businesses since the cows live about 5 fields from my house. So my only regular buying is petrol and groceries which I probably do buy twice a week. I buy something online three or four times a month, a book from amazon, ink cartridges, stuff like that, and I buy clothes every couple of months or so.

    Its an interesting and mildly disturbing concept, Buy Nothing Day. HMH, I think you are right about the key to not buying stuff being happiness. It’s a feedback loop too – the key to happiness is not buying stuff.

    Thanks for writing about it, Charlotte.

    Aphra.

  8. Whoops – too late! I was in Gascony quietly supporting the local economy with large purchases of local wine, foie gras and rillettes de canard. Oops. At least I didn’t put any money into the purse of Bug Business!

  9. Of course, that’s meant to be BIG Business…. although I swear I did not spend any money on bugs on Saturday either. I’m trying to quit.

    :o)

Leave a Reply

