Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

My Word for 2013 is …

8 Comments

… clarity.

2012 was a good year in many ways – I signed a publishing contract, started working full time again, read lots of great books, attended my first writers’ conference, had a fabulous three-week holiday back home in South Africa and a delicious 10 days in France and watched my family grow and develop in many delightful ways.

However, it was also scattered. I have no idea how many, or even which, books I read, work dominated my life, I had to prioritise down to the nth degree in order to get stuff done, my exercise routine dropped and shattered into a million dusty little pieces, I sacrificed eating healthily to the expedience of eating quickly, everything that wasn’t vital to everyday survival dropped off my to-do list, I saw my friends infrequently and I distracted myself from the things that are important to me.

I feel as if, in my haste, I forgot to breathe. Everything was a breathless, hasty, fuzzy rush to get the main thing done.

This year, I will aim for calm and clarity, for knowing why I am doing things and heading there step-by-step.

In the interests of achieving this, here are some of my goals for 2013:

  • Sign an English-language publishing deal for Balthasar’s Gift
  • Write daily, with the goal of providing a first draft of Karkloof Blue to my agent by July
  • Exercise and eat for health
  • Tick stuff off my to-do list
  • Attend to people before tasks
  • Remember that even if I love the job, the job doesn’t love me back*

And if I struggle to remember to do all of these things all of the time, I hope it won’t be too hard to remember just one small word.

4431097008_0599221979

Clarity

* Quote from The Wire, Season 2

* Photo courtesy of Ellenm1

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

8 thoughts on “My Word for 2013 is …

  1. What a wonderful post…It prompts me to my own introspection.

  2. Your goals for 2013 look great. I hope you have a great year!

  3. Clarity is a good word for 2013 – could do with some of that myself. I like your people before tasks goal. Sometimes it feels like people are tasks to tick off, so it’s good to have a reminder to look more deeply than that. All the best for 2013!

  4. I really like those goals and I need to remember “people before tasks”. Hope you and your family have a great 2013 🙂

  5. Yes, clarity is a good word. Last summer, I remember going faster and faster until it seemed as if I had the equivalent of one of those filaments in a lightbulb about to blow any minute. When it dawned on me that I wasn’t even enjoying what was usually my favourite time of year, I decided to dump everything non-essential and to make a decision about who and what should stay on that list. Result — improved clarity and a returned desire to eat healthily.

    Looking forward, so much, to reading the English language edition of your novel. Have a wonderful year 🙂

  6. I’m so proud of all you have accomplished, Charlotte! I too am striving for clarity, but not because of an insane pace. I strive for clarity of purpose. I hope I can find my way just as you so marvelously have!

  7. Bravo, Charlotte. A perfect goal and I wish you mych luck with it. I am especially hopeful about your English-language publishing contract so I can brag endlessly about your book over here in New York!! Happy New Year, friend. 🙂

  8. Your 2012 had the same problems as mine. Can I borrow your resolution please? Far too busy to think of my own. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

