Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

Three Things I Love About Work

16 Comments

So I’m back in full time work for the first time this century, and I am loving it. Here are some of the things that are particularly good about it:

1. The salary. The way it lands miraculously in my bank account all by itself, with my having to decode mysterious invoicing procedures and eke it along through opaque processes known only to one person in Switzerland, is lovely.

2. The finite nature of tasks. I do something, submit it to the relevant person who makes changes or not and then it is complete, giving me a warm glow of achievement. Unlike the laundry or the dishwasher, which coil outwards in unforgiving spirals of repetitiveness, giving me the feeling that I need to go and lie down.

3. The craic. Here are two examples:

Charlotte: Sneeze.

Colleague: Bless you.

Charlotte: Sneeze.

Colleague: Bless you.

Charlotte: Sneeze!

Colleague: Bless you for the whole day.

Or this one:

Colleague A: My dream holiday would be a food tour of India, trying all the different regional specialities and tasting everything.

Colleague B: You mean a gastric tour.

***

In other news, it is Women’s Day in South Africa on Tuesday and the revolution is far from over. There is work to be done, sisters and brothers!

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

16 thoughts on “Three Things I Love About Work

  1. Enjoy – it’s wonderful to be valued as a working person and not simply a skivvy.

    And – bravo – someone who knows how to spell craic!

  2. Hurray! So glad you are having a lovely time!

  3. I say yeah all points! You forgot the point that you are allowed to take vacation time and still get paid! Looking forward to seeing you guys.

  4. Sounds like fun! What work are you doing?

  5. Yes, there are some days at work that are so civilised -reading the paper, having a cup of tea, an interesting conversation – I can’t believe I get paid for that bit instead of the bits at home where I am changing dirty nappies and cleaning spilt food off the floor.

  6. The only thing that I miss about working is the craic! How nice it would be to have someone say “Bless you for the whole day.” Happy for you that you are loving your new worklife.

  7. You almost make it sound tempting!
    Especially that part about completing a piece of work, handing it on and it being done…. the salary bit sounds good too! Glad it’s going well.

  8. Missing that sneeze … lucky colleagues.

  9. Although I am enjoying the freedom of not working right now, you make me realize that there, yes, ARE some very good things about working. Maybe one day I’ll get back to it.

  10. I get the craic from my clients, thank heavens none of them really feel the need to get massage in dark silence.

    But I could really go for having a guaranteed salary. My problem is when I look at the help wanted ads and think about working somewhere I think that I probably am unemployable. Not because I’m stupid or anything, but it has been a LONG time since I had a boss, or a schedule that was imposed upon me rather than chosen, or had salary reviews, or had to “office dress”. I’d have to buy a whole new wardrobe!

    Fortunately, I am still quite popular and have even seen an increase in my client base lately, so I don’t really “need” to procure employment.

  11. I have been missing the second one terribly since I left my job 2 years ago, especially as rejections to my writing come back! Glad you’re liking your job, Charlotte. But are you writing too?

  12. Congrats on the new position (I know I am late to the party with this…) – I am so glad you are enjoying the working mom life…

  13. Id like to invite you folks to come to Amish Stories for a recipe for “Famous Pennsylvania Dutch Sticky Cinnamon Buns” along with a book signing schedule for Amish fiction writer Wanda Brunstetter for Pennsylvania and Ohio as well as a contest to meet her. I hope everyone so far is having a great weekend. Thanks everyone. Richard from Amish Stories.

  14. That sounds brilliant! Much as I crave solitude these days, I still really miss having colleagues. Oh, and regular, stable paydays. Yep. Definitely miss those too.

  15. Meanwhile, supermum has just left her job after 14 years to spend some time at home (a huge jump for both of us). I wonder how long it’ll take before she misses the craic? I’m already missing the mysteriously arriving salary…

  16. Pingback: 2011 in First Lines « Charlotte's Web

Leave a Reply

