Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

May Madness

6 Comments

May is turning out to be quite the month chez moi, which means my presence here at Charlotte’s Web will continue to be vague, scattered and somewhat erratic. Here, in order of importance, are three of the many things happening to me:

1. Complete novel revisions. It turns out that my main revisions are plot-related and plotting is my weakness, which is something I’m going to have to address if I plan to be a professional crime writer. That aside, I’m done with cogitating and have committed to completing and handing them in by the end of the month. I’ve said it! Feel free to stop me in the street and question me in depth about my progress, even if I look evasive and try to distract you with cheesecake.

2. Give creative writing workshop. At the end of the month, I’m giving a weekend workshop to undergrads at Heidelberg University. I’m looking forward to it very much. I visited them last week and asked what they want from their workshop and now have a clear idea how to structure it.

3. Run marathon. For an ex-asthmatic and renowned non-sportler this is the most intimidating, though I am slightly exaggerating the extent of the run. It’s a team event and four of us run a marathon as a relay. My leg is just over eight kilometres: short for some, very long and daunting for me.

I’m also attending to an admin list as long as my arm, one that includes passport refreshing for certain members of my family and other unspeakable horrors. If I’m ever rich/successful/clever enough to have an admin assistant, it is this kind of thing I will gladly hand over. Ticking boxes and filling out forms is not my forte. Give me character motivations and new plot strands any day.

However, I’m finding comfort in reading and have read some excellent books, which I will detail in another post. Right now, Siri Hustvedt’s The Summer Without Men is glowing all buttercup-yellow and tempting next to my bed.

And in other news, today is the last day for voting for Expatica Germany’s best blog 2010/2011, so if you feel moved to support me, here’s the link.

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

6 thoughts on “May Madness

  1. Good luck with the revisions! I think plot is terribly hard, particularly when it comes to thrillers and other writers must feel the same as I often see plots reused in the crime fiction I read. I thought your plot was rather good when I read your book, so you really can’t be too far off. Mind you, I would rather plot any number of books than either run a marathon or try to renew a passport abroad….. You are very brave.

    I also have The Summer Without Men to read! I’ll keep you company! xoxo

  2. As they say, every woman needs a wife … I’m amazed by all the revisions and re-writes that this process of novel-writing seems to entail, and deeply impressed by the way you take it all in your stride. I wish you the best of luck with that and the marathon!

  3. Your energy, drive and enthusiasm never cease to amaze me. About Siri Hustvedt: she was in Hamburg reading from your bedside novel just this past Monday, though having found out about it so late, I missed it.

    Oh heck: she was just in Heidelberg as well – last night in fact
    http://www.dai-heidelberg.de/content/index_eng.html

  4. Have already proudly cast my vote, so will just say hoorah on account of all your other happenings – very exciting times! I do especially wish you luck for your leg of the marathon – you may be heartened to know asthmatic friend of mine has run the full 42 kms FIVE times. Good luck, darling! Xx

  5. Good luck with that list, Charlotte, especially the passport stuff. Yuck. My husband and sons have two each – Spain and USA – so we’re in this neverending rotation of staying current with our documentation. Fortunately, I only have one little blue passport of my own to contend with.

  6. Pingback: 2011 in First Lines « Charlotte's Web

Leave a Reply

