Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

Briefly Resurfacing

12 Comments

… to say that one of my posts has been nominated as blog post of the year on Expatica Germany. Click here to see more, and please vote if you feel moved to do so.

In other news, I broke my eight-month drought of not leaving the Rhein-Neckar Kreis by heading to Paris on the TGV with my Mama this weekend. We made three important pilgrimages:

  • Laduree, for macaroons, specifically the salted butter caramel
  • Berthillon, for ice-cream, where the salted butter caramel beat my usual favourite, pistachio, into righteous submission
  • Shakespeare & Co, where we dreamed among the bookshelves and bought some books

Otherwise, we shopped, drank champagne at inappropriate times of the day, hopped on and off buses like Parisiennes, saw the Manet exhibition, visited Monet’s waterlilies at the Orangerie, strolled through the Marais, bought a painting in Place des Vosges and watched the herds of joggers storm the Luxembourg Gardens on Sunday morning.

We stayed in a small but perfectly formed little hotel on the Place de Sorbonne, a small but sparkling square with shushing fountains, a few restaurants and, essentially, a Gap. It was glorious. I love, love, love Paris.

Ditto macaroons.

Ditto ice-cream.

Ditto my Mama.

Ditto Germany’s Top Husband who kept Germany’s Top Kids fed, watered and entertained while we were gone.

Now I’m off again, but I plan to be back on the other side of the Easter weekend. Wishing you chocolate of the highest quality and a weekend of the very best kind of sunshine.

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

12 thoughts on “Briefly Resurfacing

  1. Paris is very cool….I love running in Paris…see my post coming in a few minutes…

  2. Oh, what a lovely outing! Can’t wait to show Paris to my daughter when she’s a little older.

    Going to vote for you now!

  3. Congratulations! I just went and voted for Germany’s top blog this very minute!

  4. That sounds like a dreamy, perfect trip!

  5. Oh, while you were here I took the opposite train east to Strasburg and missed you! Next time around, drop me a line, I’ll be happy to let you discover some lesser known bakeries for a few more gourmandises…

  6. Sounds like a delightful trip! And congratulations on the nomination – how very cool!

  7. Don’t know how I missed that post of the 10 things you love. Now I’ve read it. Voted for it. And hope you will buy me a piece of cheese cake the next time we are at a cafe.

  8. Congrats on the nomination, Charlotte! I am like to faint at your description of Paris. I could just see Berthillon – on the quai, across the Seine from Notre Dame? – and all the rest in your description. I lived in the 1st arrondisement for a few years in my other life, which God-willing I will talk my Spanish husband into enjoying with me again someday! Looking forward to your return here.

  9. I remember Shakespeare & Co. on Broadway (was it Broadway?) in NY. Too long.

    Being as it’s you, I’m off to vote. Wouldn’t do it for anyone else, mind.

  10. Gagging with Paris envy. That sounds superb. And congrats on the nomination! I hope you win – shall vote now before my husband and baby return from the car demanding god knows what. Have been thinking of you, though! xx

  11. Congratulations on the nomination, and even more on getting to Paris and having a fabulous time! You make me curious about the city of Light, which I have never really needed to see the way I had to go see London. London is the place for me! when I can get there…..maybe these lovely cities are so pleasurable because we can do so many wonderful things there. Thank you for sharing your wonderful time there!

  12. Coming in late…but very jealous as I sadly had not even discovered the delight of the macaron (or salted butter caramel for that matter) last time I was in Paris. I will definitely be doing the grand macaron tour next time I wend my way Europe-ward…

Leave a Reply

