Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

Hiatus

7 Comments

Life has taken over from blogging – nothing serious, but an accumulation of things over the past three months that have left me exhausted. I’m giving myself a blogging break. I’ll be reading blogs, commenting occasionally, but not writing anything until after Easter. May the books you read be inspiring, the words you write be lovely and may the Easter bunny bring you shedloads of very expensive and very tasty chocolate.

Auf Wiedersehen, pets!

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

7 thoughts on “Hiatus

  1. Have a relaxing vacation- or at least, one that recharges you for other responsibilities.

  2. I really like that phrase you see on t-shirts and posters – ‘I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days attack me at once.’ Oh yes, indeed. Take very great care of yourself. I’ve always found that a well-timed blog break can be most rejuvenating.

  3. I hope that you get a good rest and come back refreshed!

  4. Diving into my favourite books, for me, is therapeutic.

    I never tire of Addie Pray (Paper Moon), Tom Sawyer, The Old Man and the Sea, To Kill a Mockingbird, Huckleberry Finn. Wish I had a copy of The Snow Goose.

    But then I ain’t growed up more’n seven year old.

    I also find myself repeatedly returning to Lisbeth Salander, reading excerpts and delighting in her acomplishments.

    Would love to know her, but boy, also scared of her, terrified I might put a foot wrong.

    Larson’s writing is far too long and loose, cluttered with superfluous stuff. Seriously in need of tight editing.

    So why why blockbuster success? I believe it’s the protagonist who makes or breaks. Everyone, both men and women are in love with Lisbeth (but daren’t get too close in case she bites).

    I’m suggesting, that in your respite, from time to time you dive into your favourite books too.

    Wishing I could take some of the load off you.

    Lots of fun and laughter, hey.

  5. Thanks for your blog and enjoy your rest. By the way the post I loved the most has disappeared from your page. I read it quite often, mostly to friends while wiping the tears from my face. Tears of laughter!!!! It was called “To fest or not to fest.” Have you still got that one somewhere???

  6. Happy hiatus, Charlotte, and good luck with the revisions! I imagine it must turn one’s brain inside out to mull over lines you spent so hard crafting in the first place. I am about to take hiatus on one of my blogs (two is too much), felt bad about doing it, but seeing your note about hiatus has confirmed for me the good sense in doing it when needed. Thanks for the nudge.😉

  7. Pingback: 2011 in First Lines « Charlotte's Web

Leave a Reply

