Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

10 Things for 2011

22 Comments

So I’ve reviewed my goals for 2010 and found them to be good. As I listened to last night’s midnight hour of gunshots crackling, bombs exploding and small weapons fire that the Germans believe is the appropriate way to welcome in the New Year, I planned my goals for 2011.  Here they are,  in stark black and white:

1. Sign at least one publishing contract for the first in the Maggie Cloete mystery series, Balthasar’s Gift, and see it in print before the end of the year.

2. Write book #2,  Karkloof Blue, and outline book #3, Sangoma’s Wish.

3. Source five new freelance clients for my writing business and starting blogging again on my professional blog.

4. Buy my novel-writing name domain (Charlotte James) and set up my novelist’s website, possibly amalgamating it with this blog and the professional writing one.

5. Plan the creative writing workshop I’m to give at Heidelberg University later in the year, with the aim of giving more of the same.

6. Travel widely.

7. Love my family and my friends.

8. Blog and tweet joyously.

9. Eat healthily and exercise more.

10. Keep a reading record on this blog, with the aim of reading 100 books this year.

Wishing you a year full of riotous success, happiness and fun, not to mention excellent books.

Yours, in anticipation of a fabulous 2011,

Charlotte

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

22 thoughts on “10 Things for 2011

  1. Sounds wonderful. All the best for the coming year.

  2. What a great list of goals. Happy new year!

  3. Happy 2011, Charlotte! What a beautiful list of ten you have here. As a reader, I’m especially excited to see #1 come true.

    Happy New Year!

  4. Charl, I take my hat off to you.

  5. Great goals, Charlotte, wishing you the best with them.

  6. Awesome, Charlotte! I have no doubt you’ll accomplish it all, and more!

  7. I can hear the ass of 2011 being kicked from here in the UK! You go, girl! We’re all cheering you on to (even more) great things this year.🙂

  8. Did you know that Karkloof Blue is a butterfly that is only found at Rockwood (or there abouts)?

    Something like that anyway.

  9. Happy New Year and can’t wait to see the publishing!

  10. Very ambitious list! Good luck achieving everything you have planned! (and happy new year!) (had to giggle at the bombs to welcome the new year *snort*)

  11. VERY best of luck on the publisher hunt, Charlotte! I can relate to your goals, especially the eating and exercising. I also have an unfortunate sugar problem (just ate two pieces of my mother’s homemade fudge before reading your posts, and it’s not even noon yet). Best for 2011, and I look forward to hearing and seeing more of Heidelberg in your posts.

  12. My niece and sister were in Berlin for New Years and the whole fireworks thing has made her hot to live in Germany! She even got pictures of a group of policemen who were setting off fireworks outside their security vans when they thought people weren’t looking.

    Your goals are lovely and impressive, I like #7 very much. I managed to do pretty well on #9 myself until the holidays. Fortunately I only gained three pounds, so I will be working that off plus attempting to reach my final goal of 150 lb, which is what I weighed in 1975 when I graduated from college. We shall see.

    I think I will adopt your #10. I was doing that a while ago and I sort of fell by the wayside. But since this is a new year, I believe I can start afresh.

    Wishing you all success in your publishing goals! I look forward to reading your book. I’m always looking for a good mystery.

  13. Why such easy goals, Mrs Dynamite ?

  14. Wow. This list makes mine feel so shoddy. It’s mostly “keep writing. Survive newborn.” I for one cannot WAIT to read your book and will be first in line to purchase it, and am looking forward to reading all about your progress on the above goals. Happy New Year, Charlotte!

  15. good goals! I’m joining you on no.9. Good luck.

  16. Those are some wonderful resolutions! Good luck with them. I am particularly looking forward to reading Charlotte James and writing a review of the first in the series on my blog. And, don’t forget, I belong to a mystery book club (as do Hobs and Dorr), and we can make the other members buy and read it. Tell your agent, that’s five copies already sold.

  17. How fun to see where you’ve been and where you are! I started following you about a year ago and here we are both on the same path. But… Why do you need a publishing contract? You have the drive, blogs where you can spread the word about your books, and obviously enough intelligence to do a better job of marketing your book than some pubisher who will still expect you to do the marketing.

    I just published my first book (about tweeting for business) and learned tons. Yes, I’m a fiction writer but this book came out of nowhere.

    Contact me privately and I’ll share what I know.

  18. Good luck with all your goals. They are very similar to my own. I’m looking forward to see how this year pans out!

  19. That’s an impressive list – nothing you can’t handle, Charlotte! Congrats on the move, and Happy New Year!

  20. How do you make this site look this cool. Email me if you can and share your wisdom. !

  21. How do I put rss feeds on a classic blogger template?

  22. Pingback: 2011 in First Lines « Charlotte's Web

Leave a Reply

