Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

OK, So, Twitter

15 Comments

I always knew that the Twitter moment would arrive, but, judging by my blogging/Facebook/online Scrabble addictions, I always thought it would be healthy to postpone it for as long as possible. Do I really need to have a Tweetdeck to obsess over? A whole lot of really interesting people to follow?

It seems the moment may have arrived. I’ve just finished reading The Year of the Flood, the second in Margaret Atwood’s dystopian trilogy and it is, of course, brilliant and exquisitely scary. I woke up at four this morning to finish it, listened to my dark house groan and had delicious shivers of fear. This morning, in the sunlight, I am both pleased and sad that I’ve finished it. Anyway, according to MaAt’s Twitter stream, she’s already working on book three. This is stuff I need to know!

So my Twitter questions are:

1. Do you tweet?

2. Is it worth it?

3. Have you used it for publicity and did that work?

4. Who are your favourite Twitterers and why?

Any and all comments much appreciated.

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

15 thoughts on “OK, So, Twitter

  1. Theoretically, I tweet (at Litloveblog), but I actually only ever announce new blog posts there. I have nothing against twitter per se, it’s just that I need more words to say anything at all! But it often looks fun.

  2. I am avoiding using Twitter, only just got used to Facebook – but I understand your reasons why you are going to use Twitter. Have fun!

  3. No.
    I’m not really missing it.
    No and that’s how I like it.
    You, it seems.

  4. In SA we use it a lot for driving stories i.e.PR. Reason is that although our Twitter user numbers aren’t huge, all the SA media use it. We break stories on Twitter and then media migrate stories to traditional media. I think it’s about finding the right people to follow and who will follow you back

  5. Hmmmm, I do (JJ_B_Tea) but I remain unconvinced. Lots of writer friends love it and seem more than able to tweet all day and still write books. I struggle. I tweet in fits and bursts and get all shy and tangled up when I recognise a name.

    I think, like blogging, you’ve probably got to love it to do it effectively. I would say it’s definitely worth a try.

  6. I think it probably depends what you’re looking for out of it. It happens that my industry is pretty active, so it works for me.
    I use Twitter for news (I killed some of my regular RSS feeds because I get the headlines on Twitter instead), for business networking and for keeping up with friends. I am on a couple of UK women in publishing Twitter lists, so I just picked up a bunch of new publishing industry followers via that, none of whom I am likely to come into contact with via other means. I then had an excellent Twitter conversation about digital publishing with a consultant and analyst based in Dublin, from whom I also got some tips on what to do when I’m in Dublin! And last week there was a reasonably interesting Twitter debate going on about adverts in ebooks.

    It was brilliant for following Wimbledon (play by play) and the Chilcott Inquiry. Whoever was tweeting the latter did a sterling job.

    The downside is that even though my Twitter stream is protected, I am easier to find on Google.

    I follow @FakeAPStyleBook, @bigbenclock and @Queen_UK because they make me smile. I follow @bengoldacre for his ranty debunking of crappy science journalism, and @nathanfillion because I lurve him.

    And if you take the plunge, I am @BeckyEC!

  7. Yes, and I was very resistant to it at first. I decided to only follow writers/book lovers/publishers (OK, and some news sources). The focus makes logging into Twitter a lot like a personalized news stream that’s all about writing and books. I now love it. It has boosted my blog readership quite a bit, too. I’ve noticed quite a few writers getting agents (who are on Twitter too) by tweeting regularly and connecting with the right people. The people I enjoy following the most are those who manage to provide useful info with a bit of personality and humor. They tweet regularly, but not constantly.

  8. I’m not there yet, for the same reasons you were reluctant to start, but it sound like a useful PR machine.

  9. I only just started on Twitter, but I’m already seeing the benefits. It’s useful and fun too.

  10. I’m such a luddite – I don’t Tweet. I barely text. Blogging, on the other hand, I can handle!

  11. No, but I’m interested in Elizabeth’s comment. It’s partly a matter of time–lack of. Also stats are that a high percentage of people that register on Twitter drop out a month later. I think twitter is great for journalists, people who are reporting on news in the making.

  12. Yes, and I like it. It used to be a way to keep up with friends, but now most of them are on Facebook, so I use Twitter more to follow interesting people and get news. I like @ebertchicago (Roger Ebert, who I’m discovering is way cool) @thebookslut, @maudnewton. There are lots of good book people there.

  13. I was on it – had a personal account and a professional one, but found myself very overwhelmed and closed both accounts. I don’t like tweeting myself although S. keeps encouraging me to because he thinks it would be hilarious – he keeps insisting I should tweet/twitter. I do plan to restart both accounts but keep those I follow to a bare minimum…and I don’t know if I will ever get into tweeting myself.

  14. I do tweet but I dip in and out. Sometimes it can be really good fun and sometimes it can be a bit blah.

    When I publish a new post I tend to put out a shout on Twitter but I wouldn’t say I get a huge amount of traffic from it. Sometimes though, if a post gets re-tweeted by a few people, that can create a bit of a buzz around it. If I see a post re-tweeted lots of times I tend to want to read it to see what all the fuss is about.

    My favourite people to tweet tend to be just other bloggers that I gel with. I can never remember their handles off the top of my head though – not very helpful I know.

    So… are you going to take the plunge? (Go on, you know you wanna!)

  15. Nope. I can’t separate ‘Twitter’ from ‘twit’ – something about it repels me. I am a big early adopter of other communication tools and technological advances, but Twitter still feels faddish to me, and I guess I’ve made peace with just letting this one pass me by.

    HOWEVER, if I visit a blog I follow and they haven’t posted anything new but have a visible Twit-feed (see?!), I do read it to see what they’re up to.

Leave a Reply

