Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

Journey’s End

11 Comments

So I’m back from my journey. We took a 12-hour drive to the Dordogne Valley for a week’s glamping at the unequivocally fabulous Camping les Ormes. This is a camping site that actually lives up to its website – it is that beautiful. While strong design values don’t make an iota of difference to my kids’ holiday, or for that matter, my husband’s, they do to mine. I loved sleeping in a tent with a chandelier and an antique piano, having crystal tea light holders and fresh roses on the white kitchen table. Pictures and a full report to follow.

However, we came home to the news that France is the world’s most expensive destination. So we may not be going back for a while.

Today is South Africa’s big day, and we are off shortly to celebrate the start of the World Cup with all the South Africans who live in Germany. Since there are only 14 of us, some Germans have also been invited and we are looking forward to teaching them how to blow the vuvuzela. Though I hold with good design values, I may break from those for today and wear my green Bafana Bafana t-shirt. Because, the boys, you know, we want them to win.

I watched some of the concert last night and cried in the dark in front of the telly. The atmosphere was amazing, the musicians outstanding and I felt proud, patriotic and very far away. Still get a lump in my throat when I think about it.

My novel is progressing well. I am close to the finish line of draft four and have promised myself and my husband to start approaching agents by July at the latest. I wrote a car chase scene last night that included references to BMW model numbers and felt like James Bond, just for the day.

This was our family theme song for the holiday. Yes, we do allow our children to sing songs about ‘blowing the bad guys away’. We also let them play ‘I kissed a girl and I liked it’ on their recorders.

Hooray for Barbara Kingsolver winning the Orange Prize! I ordered The Lacuna from my DH who flew in from London last night, and as I wiped my tears and read the first pages at midnight, I discovered that Kingsolver has stolen a phrase of mine. Goddammit, don’t these published authors have any respect for great unpublished? It’s a phrase I’m proud of, that my beta readers have all circled and given me a gold star for. Now I have to decide whether to get rid of it, or let it slip in there.

Which is all grist to the finishing mill, so I’ll bid you another farewell. See you at the end of Draft Four!

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

11 thoughts on “Journey’s End

  1. Now that sounds like my kind of camping! Enjoy the game, I know I am going to cry when they sing the National Anthem – I always do. All the best as you continue your fourth draft!

  2. I’m looking forward to the pictures! And congratulations on making so much headway with your novel.

  3. Oh, and I’m also happy to hear about Kingsolver’s win!

  4. I have always loved Kingsolver, but I just could not get through The Lacuna. You will have to let me know what you think.

  5. Hope the vuvuzela blowing went well – the atmosphere here was amazing – even getting stuck in traffic, on the M3 on the way to friends to watch the match, felt like being in a procession rather than being stuck in traffic – instead of groaning and moaning, the kids were flag spotting and waving.

  6. If this is making camp, where do I sign?!

    So bummed on your behalf about the phrase… is it a simile??

    GOOD LUCK with draft four – go to it, Charlotte of the Burg, your time starts NOW!

  7. I say use the phrase anyway (or a variation of it). And yay re luxury camping and the progress with your novel.

  8. Uhm, hello. You tagged me two years and four months ago and I never knew… but I found it recently after a change to the way blogger previews a post… And I’ve done the meme today on my blog.

    I’m so sorry that I didn’t know and it looked as though I’d been rude enough to ignore it.

    I loved the meme – I’d never seen it before – so I thought I’d better come and tell you. Better late than never, maybe?

  9. Just checking in — I’m glad to hear the novel’s going well. And the Dordogne trip sounds wonderful. xo

  10. We’ll be in Germany soon for holiday from the UAE – how do the prices compare to France?

  11. I am glad I wasn’t the only one watching the concert and crying – it was just so unexpectedly emotional! And when Desmond Tutu came on I was laughing and crying all at once – wanted to give him a hug!! Missing the constant drone of the vuvuzelas now – although I am pleased to see and hear many along the Tour de France route!

Leave a Reply

