Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

And the Winner is ….

10 Comments

Litlove, with 35% of the votes, as decided by the voting public! Litlove, since you are not a chocolate eater, you get first choice of any of the books reviewed or mentioned in my last post. Dad Who Writes, who is runner-up with 30%, may decide if he wants German confectionary or a book from the last post. Leave a note for me in the comments or contact me via email. Well done to both of you!

Seeing we’re housekeeping, I’d like to mention that my beautiful new website just garnered me my first work and I have spent the weekend copy-editing a book that is about to go to print. I’ll link when it’s live. I’m also going to link to some magazine articles I’ve just written for EMBOencounters.

That’s all, folks. Have a splendid Monday.

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

10 thoughts on “And the Winner is ….

  1. I am most certainly having a splendid Monday now, thank you!!!! Whee! That’s really wonderful – and is making up for the fact that I had to miss all the sessions I’d wanted to go to at the Cambridge literary festival this weekend because of bad stomach cramps. That might be too much information, but I am VERY excited now. I’ll email you Charlotte,when I am calmer, as I don’t think you have my address. But thank you!! Thank you!! I couldn’t be more delighted.

    And good news about the copy-editing too.

  2. Wow! I’ve won something! For something I’ve written! And I’ve just used up my ration of exclamation marks for the next three weeks. Oops.

    I’m also seriously excited. And brilliant that your site is functioning – am about to go over and check it out.

    I have a rather large pile of unread books so would it be barbarous of me to go for chocolate? It might also convince supermum that there is actually a serious point to all this blogging malarkey🙂

  3. Hooray Litlove! Your book of choice will be on its way today.

    DWW, send me your address via email and I’ll post you some goodness.

  4. It’s a swindle! I clearly should have won! Of course, I DID forgot to vote for myself, dang it…

  5. Yay, Litlove! And yay, instantly effective professional website!!

  6. Congrats to the two worthy winners. And the new site looks great, Charlotte!

  7. Love the new site as well as the new look on this one. I’ll have to check back to see what the winning was all about. Good luck with all the new work you will be getting.

  8. Congratulations to Litlove! and to Dad Who Writes. I really do like the new look of your blog, Charlotte.

  9. Hi Charlotte
    I came across your blog and I love it. I also looked at your website and was particularly intrigued by your career path in your bio section.

    Your jobs as a documentation developer and SAP product manager seem very linear, analytical and left brained type work whereas what you do now seems so creative and right brained. Do you feel your work in computers was a reflection of the real you or did you feel like a bird in a cage?

    The reason I ask is because I’m an accountant who is stuck in a very dry, dead end job and I have no outlet for my creative spirit. I find it inspiring that your career path is so different ie computer stuff and now the writing. I can tell that you have definitely found your niche. It makes me think there is hope for me!

  10. Check out Wallace Stephens – spent the whole of his working life as a lawyer working in insurance. Wrote most of his major poems after he turned 50.

Leave a Reply

