Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

Adieu, Farewell … till 2010

13 Comments

Dear friends, I have been AWOL and aware of it. Life at Burg Central has been extremely busy, what with D and I having to celebrate our birthdays in the same week as Christmas – mine involved going out for dinner and unwrapping a lovely … hard-drive, whereas hers involved six of her closest friends and a complicated sleepover; three carol services to attend, one in a barn at -5°, the other two actually ON my birthday; Grandma arriving and needing tender loving care; plus Christmas and etcetera to shop and prepare for.

I am taking off, both literally and figuratively. I plan a blogging break until some point in January, and I am also flying to South Africa for a whirlwind visit for my youngest brother’s wedding, with the stopover on the way back in Dubai to have New Year with the very famous G.

All this will be happening … ALONE. I am deserting my family and going away by myself on Christmas Day. I have been dealing with feelings of maternal guilt, but am getting over them. I’m ready for a break, plus the kids have both Daddy and Grandma to look after them.

I will see you on the other side. Wishing you a wonderful festive season, whether it is in the northern or the southern hemisphere, and a good slide, as we like to say here in the Burg, into the new year.

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

13 thoughts on “Adieu, Farewell … till 2010

  1. How unbelievably exciting. I know you can’t divulge all the details, but, keep them in mind and tell us All in another ten years time. The merriest of Christmases and all the best in the New Year. Take dear care. Love you.

  2. Have a wonderful trip and come back refreshed and full of stories!

  3. Have a fantastic time, Charlotte and enjoy all your travelling. Take very great care of yourself! We’ll miss you, and look forward to your return.

  4. Still can’t believe I will be missing you. Hope you have an amazing time. Still hope to get you on the phone before then.
    K

  5. Sorry to be missing you on your whirlwind SA visit but I hope you have a fabulous time! And wishing you a very good (and safe) slide into 2010 too.

  6. A Carol service in a barn at -5 degrees?!?!? Now thats Christmas Spirit! Have a lovely Christmas and a safe journey back to Germany after your travels.

  7. Happy Christmas and safe travels!

  8. Merry Christmas!

  9. Oooooh, I must say, Charlotte of the Burg, that sounds like FUN, and what better way to finish your busy bee year?! Have a cracking time, madam, and see you upon your return.

  10. Happy holidays! It sounds like a very exciting program -enjoy every part of it and come back to us with stories of your adventures! Best wishes

  11. Happy travels! Be well!

  12. Blessed be and congratulations on finishing the rewrite. Have a great trip and we’ll see you on the flip side.

    Oh, and Merry Christmas too!

  13. Sounds like a sublime way to end the year! I’m just back from 2 weeks in SA and my soul feels nourished. Wishing you a new year filled with inspiration!

Leave a Reply

