Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

Carrot Cake Muffins

17 Comments

IMG_5036

Here, by popular demand, is the carrot cake muffin recipe I mentioned last week. It comes from a book called Muffins und Törtchen, Einfach und Schnell by Susanna Tee, and this recipe is both simple and fast. It also happens to be delicious, and the marscapone frosting is a new level of heavenly. I far prefer it to the traditional cream cheese frosting used for carrot cakes – it’s more subtle and flavoursome. It’s the cream cheese frosting’s grown-up sister, who’s moved away to university and come home with a new sheen of sophistication. And in the German style, neither the frosting nor the muffins are overly sweet. It calls for brown sugar, which is great if you have it, but I have used plain white caster sugar to no noticeable ill-effect. If you don’t live in Germany and can’t get gingerbread spices, use a mixture of ground cinnamon and ground ginger.

Ingredients:

125g softened butter

125g brown sugar

Zest and juice of one unwaxed orange

2 large eggs, lightly beaten

175g of grated carrot

5 tablespoons of walnuts, chopped

125g flour

1 teaspoon of gingerbread spices

1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder

For the frosting:

280g marscapone

4 tablespoons icing-sugar

Zest of one unwaxed orange

Method:

Preheat oven to 180 degrees, and put muffin cases in a muffin tray.

Cream the butter, sugar and orange zest. Add the beaten egg bit by bit, and stir well. Dry the grated carrot on a kitchen towel and then add to the mixture along with the walnuts and the orange juice. Stir well. Fold in the flour, baking powder and spices with a metal spoon. Divide between the muffin cases.

Bake the muffins for 25 minutes until they are golden brown and feel springy to the touch. Cool on a baking tray.

Stir the marscapone, icing-sugar and orange zest.

When the muffins have cooled, ice them.

Decorate with marzipan fruits or whole walnuts or a smattering of orange zest or leave plain.

Enjoy!

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

17 thoughts on “Carrot Cake Muffins

  1. Yum! They look scrumptious! Will definately love to give these a try!

  2. Have you ever tried to make these with fructose instead of ordinary sugar? I ask because as you know, I don’t eat sugar, but I miss cake. Sometimes I can substitute fructose, but it doesn’t seem powerful enough in cakes that use orange (no idea why this may be – does Hester Blumental come by here?). Well, just wondering – they look stunning cupcakes.

    • I haven’t tried fructose, Litlove, sorry. I eat very little sugar too, so I know how you feel about missing cake. I certainly enjoyed the day when I let rip and had, oh, four of these.

  3. Oh yum!! Thank you so much for posting the recipe

  4. Hmm. I would try these tonight but I am short the orange and, as you know, no purchasing in Germany on a Sunday!
    I’m trying this in the morning and although I live here, I’ll try 1/2 t each of my Saigon cinnamon and ground ginger. If I have enough energy, I’ll run over to get some candied ginger and add that too.

  5. I actually never think that my kids will eat anything except white cake. I even made pink fairycakes (Nigella) with sickeningly sweet frosting (a la Pinkalicious) last week and they only licked the frosting off.
    Thing2 might try one. T1 might lick the frosting.

  6. They look simply divine. Will definitely have to give them a go.

  7. How decadent! Oh, I need to try this frosting!

  8. Oh! Help! I’m drooling all over the keyboard.

    Also – I never realized that some oranges waxed!😉

  9. I like the idea of mascarpone frosting. We must try that out sometime.

    Not only are lemons, limes and oranges waxed, but frequently they are dyed as well since the American consumer has been conditioned to dislike any “blemish” on their fruit. As I was reading this recipe I was wondering where in the world in this benighted country I would find an unwaxed orange. I’m not sure they even exist in the supermarkets here. I’m a little far from citrus country to pick my own. Maybe they could be found in an organic market.

  10. I’m going to have to try these – I think my youngest would definitely eat them. I like the gorgeous decorations on them in your picture.

  11. I’d really like to take delivery of a batch of these RIGHT NOW. But since that ain’t gonna happen, I may be forced to make them myself…

  12. I know of one American in particular who will LOVE this, Thanks Charlotte!

  13. Mmmm, those look and sound fantastic!! Maybe a little secret foodblog as a sideline??

Leave a Reply

