Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

Where Am I?

17 Comments

I keep opening Bloglines and feeling disappointed that my post isn’t live yet. Then I realise that it’s because I haven’t posted. On the way back from Berlin, driving through steady rain while my family slept or gently bickered with each other, a brand-new narrator with a voice all of her own, popped into my head. She arrived, fully formed, and ready to rock the story.

Today, I sat down and wrote a rollicking new first chapter, with this new narrator pulling all the pieces together like a very clever seamstress. I’m quite in love with her. If I wasn’t me, I’d want to be her.

So where I am at the moment is neither Crete nor Berlin. I’m in the cellar, in my office, at my laptop, writing like a dervish. And having fun. See you when I next emerge!

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

17 thoughts on “Where Am I?

  1. Just curious, same book, new narrator?

  2. Go, go, go!

  3. Sounds very absorbing, I love imaginary people.

  4. Hurray for the new narrator! Have fun with her!

  5. Yey for the evolving inspiration of a creative mind! Enjoy!

  6. Whoohoo, isn’t that the best? When a character grabs you by the hand and shouts, “Let’s run!” and you get completely flushed with curiosity about where they are going to lead you … that’s the best kind of writing.

    Good luck, enjoy the wild ride, Charlotte!

  7. Good for you! Enjoy the process.

  8. IT’s weird when that happens, isn’t it? The narrator of my second (stuck) novel wasn’t intended to be there at all and certainly not narrating things. Mind you, the original lead was such a sad sack…

  9. Hey! That’s fantastic, Charlotte! I’m a little envious – I’ve never had that experience – but I absolutely love the way it sounds and the immediate effect it’s having on you and your work. Ain’t love grand?!

  10. Isn’t that great when characters come like that? I have to go through my novel I wrote last year – first draft – and excise much of it, which I have been putting off. Your posts are making me think that maybe it’s time and something good can come of the process! Congratulations, to you too, for getting this far, and keeping with it.

  11. You go girl! I am so looking forward to reading this novel🙂

  12. Pingback: The Story of My Novel So Far « Charlotte's Web

Leave a Reply

