Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

Classy, but Conservative

7 Comments

WIth thanks to Helen, I discover I am my favourite font. Sorry, Courier, it was never going to be you. And don’t try coming into my house without your serifs again. That just won’t do.


You Are Times New Roman


You are formal and conservative. You’re concerned with how you appear to others.For you, maintaining a good reputation is important. You want people to trust you.

Elegant and classy, you always maintain your composure. You are never crass.

You are professional, competent, and upstanding. And it shows!

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

7 thoughts on “Classy, but Conservative

  1. Charlotte, I have now spent ten minutes doing quizzes instead of working! Just to find that I too am Times New Roman – we’re a classy bunch here in the blog world! And that I’m a Guru in the photo one…..

  2. You Are Andale Mono

    You are a geek, pure and simple. You spend a lot of time online.
    In fact, you probably love the internet more than anyone you know.

    You are picky about design, mostly for readability’s sake.
    You are the type most likely to be irritated by a bad font.

    What Font Are You?

  3. Dear Charl

    Font? Sylfaen. It’s a slightly expanded serif face. Modern and easy to read.

    Did you see the news item on the internet recently? Scientists say there is a definite link between exercise and brain power. You said the same thing, before the scientists did.

    I’d love to tell you about an 87 000 word rewrite I’ve just completed, in which I made seven major changes simultaneously throughout. The exercise surprised me and resulted in a chalk to cheese upgrade. I reckon you’ll eat your underwhelming concern for breakfast, when rewriting. I’ll give you details in due course for you to appraise.

    Also the ups and downs of submitting, for someone who writes as crazily as I do.

    I am convinced that inspiration comes from writing itself. And leads to a critical mass, when narrative and dialogue flow from one’s finger tips. It took me two novels. You’ll achieve it in one. I’m not ecstatic about dead tortoise. I prefer, soaring sailplane, aloft in blue yonder, on slender wings. Doubt and confusion are destructive to creative writing. I’ve had my share. Don’t let them get to you.

    An example is the recent, not so sure about that guy, aspersion. I chuckled, because the innocent, just me, piece of fun, is the kernel of a communication brief which led me to write a 110 000 word novel about a seven year old tomboy. So I am absolutely sure.

    A San Francisco agency has told me they are intrigued by the writing but not the project (too episodic and not definitive). They suggest a rewrite. I want to finish the 87 000 serious work first, before I take a scalpel to my 110 000 words of tomfoolery. My thanks go to you for putting me on to agentquery.com .

    Curiously, I don’t believe we are writing novels. I think we are sitting around camp fires telling stories. And we are nothing if we don’t entertain. By the way, did you hear about the two cannibals having lunch? One says, I don’t like your publisher. The other says, then just eat the noodles.

    Best wishes from the equator,

    Tadpole

  4. I have learned too much about myself reading your blog😉

  5. You Are Impact

    You are very unique and quite striking. You are forceful and aggressive.
    You never go unnoticed, and people recognize your power instantly.
    While you make your presence known, your message is a bit fuzzy.
    You are not the easiest person to understand, and you’re not one for details.

  6. I’m Arial Black – not entirely sure about the character anaylsis though!

  7. Just wanted to add that those ten minutes I spent doing quizzes werem’twasted after all. They got me into the right mindset to turn an article I was working on for a client into a fun quiz, which turned out to be exactly what they were after! So thanks for the timely inspiration, Charlotte.

Leave a Reply

