Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

Summer Miscellany

15 Comments

It’s the summer holidays and blogging is going to be sporadic here well into September. I just have a few completely unrelated things to say:

  • Going to Paris for the weekend with an eight-year-old and a six-year-old and the charming godmother of the latter was a lot of fun, but my heart lies in Berlin.
  • My home town was mentioned on BBC News online today. See here how the dorp is famous.
  • I am in mourning since finishing the box set of Sex and the City, but I am looking forward to visiting New York in November where I plan to lunch, wear ridiculously high heels and drink Manhattans.
  • I am excited about meeting someone off my blogroll this weekend. I love it when online and real life collide.
  • I am planning, if my stars allow and the hemispheres are correctly aligned, to have an hour free to do some sport tomorrow.
  • I am waiting for a very special baby to be born.
  • I am reading Thirteen Moons by Charles Frazier and it is brilliant.
  • I did an unsupported head-stand in yoga tonight and the endorphins are still charging.
  • I met a dear friend from Cape Town in Paris this weekend and was happy to see her and her lovely children.
  • I am addicted to Scrabulous. Anyone want to play?

With thanks to Ms Make Tea for the loan of her bullet points.

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

15 thoughts on “Summer Miscellany

  1. I want to hear about the blogroll meeting and hurrah for the headstand!

  2. I want to hear about the New York trip in November, and if you have any available slots for a champagne cocktail at the Campbell Apartment…

  3. Scrabulous went away from Facebook, but was resurrected as Wordscraper!🙂

  4. You will never cease to impress me. First your brillant writing (I’m totally serious) and now a headstand without support! It always gets me daydreaming when you mention Paris for the weekend:)

  5. When, exactly, are you coming to New York? I’d like to join you and MFS, if there’s time.

  6. Oh I feel the pain over Sex and the City. I’d like a boxed set in the first place, I think! And have fun meeting your blogger. It is lovely to put a face to the words that you enjoy.

  7. Emily and Ms Musings, I will be in NYC from 14 to 20 November. Would love to see you both and would willingly accept a champagne cocktail! Many thanks for the kind invitation.

    Yogamum, I just wish I did yoga more often instead of once a week at my class. Like you, I know it’s so good for me, but unlike you, I don’t get to practice enough. BTW, you won the copy of Green Chic – please send me your home address!

    Henitserk, I know you’re busy with your move, but any time you want to start a Wordscraper game, I’m there.

    Alida, thank you. We are so lucky to live three hours from Paris by train – it is such a treat to be able to just have a weekend there.

    Litlove, my boxed set was borrowed, so perhaps some of my sorrow was having to give it back. I think I may have to go and see the movie again – in English this time.

  8. Enjoy Paris! Perhaps we can get togther again for coffee and a game of scrabble when you return!

  9. I’m clueless about the appeal of Sex and the City. Everything about it is so far from anything I care about or am interested in, I just can’t be bothered. Oh well.

    On another subject, I have just been introduced to scrabulous by azahar, and I love it. Anytime you want a game, think of me!

  10. Paris! New York! You jetsetter you🙂 If you want any NYC tips, e-mail me – I have loads. And very impressed about the unsupported headstand. Is there nothing you can’t do?!

  11. Well done on the unsupported headstand! Sounds difficult (and too scary for me in my current whuss-state). And those blog-meetings-in-real-life are always fun. Enjoy.

  12. my own blogging is quite sporadic as well but I know it will resolve itself when it is meant to. Will you be traveling to New York for work or pleasure? I have to make sure I get there for work sometime before Christmas…perhaps our trips could collide!

  13. I can’t wait for the weekend either🙂

  14. Oh to just hop over to Paris for the weekend🙂
    Where’s the photos of the 4 trip couch?

  15. I’m less than 90 minutes from Manhattan, so, if you want more blogroll meetings, let me know.

Leave a Reply

