Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

10 Things My Kids Love About Germany

13 Comments

One of the posts that consistently gets hits here is 10 Things I Love About Germany. It contains reference to cake, walking, coffee shops and great holidays. Today, while sitting in a coffee shop and eating Schwaebsiche Apfelkuchen, I asked my children what they love about Germany, and this is what they came up with:

1. Berlin. The best city in the world, even better and prettier than London (where two of them were born).

2. Swimming in the summer and skiing in the winter.

3. The coffee shops serve very LARGE slices of cake.

4. Being able to speak two languages.

5. Lots of Italians live in Germany, so you get really good pizza and extra good ice-cream.

6. Having lots of friends who speak different languages (English, German, Spanish, Turkish, Arabic, Greek).

7. Going ice-skating in winter.

8. Our friends P and M who are kind and funny and let us sleep over at their house.

(Please note that the grown-ups love P and M too, for exactly the same reason.)

9. Kika – the children’s TV channel.

(The grown-ups love Kika too. It is advert-free and age-appropriate.)

10. There are lots of different sports you can do – cycling, walking, skiing, swimming, gymnastics.

Germany – the land of outdoor living, great food, wonderful friends and big cake. How can you not love it?

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

13 thoughts on “10 Things My Kids Love About Germany

  1. This post made me smile. I think I’ll ask my kids the same question as well. Thanks for passing on the good idea.

  2. It all sounds great to me, too!

  3. I loved the ice cream when we were there. Big cake sounds good too🙂

  4. Your kids sound like they have the perfect life and appreciate it. OCunt your blessings you lucky woman.

  5. I lived for a couple of years in Germany as a child and have great memories of the place, people and food!

  6. I was born and raised in Germany to British parents. Lingua Franca inside the home was English (peppered with German words like”Broetchen” and “Apfelsaft”, though)
    I had a great time – the Germans seem to put more effort into their family leisure activities (even the smallest towns have Sportvereine of various types). After school clubs were rich and varied and you see more children out and about playing.
    Recently my other half and I were cycling in Germany and noticed the chalk drawings on a quiet residential road. You just don’t see that here in UK. No signs up to remind motorists that children play here (children do no play outside much here in UK) no kids walking home from school unaccompanied. Children have more freedom to be kids in Germany.
    Whenever I came to UK to visit the rellies each summer they’d ask (to my 10yr old self) incomprehensibly weird questions, like whether I had a boyfriend or not. “I’M A KID!”, I’d think. “What next – ask me what car I drive?!”. Looking back, I think I was able to be a child more in Germany than the UK would have let me.
    I did my A’Levels at a UK school and it was quite a shock. (especially the ridiculously poor quality school food)

  7. i’m iranian and in iran we think that the most friendly place to live is usa or australia or newsland,switzerland and spain.but about germany we think that german people are so selfish.you know one of my freinds,she married to her husband and after that they went to germany 3 years ago.i remember when i talked to her she always told me that because her hair is black and she is iranian ,some of the people mocking her and called her”black head”.she said to me that german people are not really freindly and kind.
    there were so many problems there and now she and her husband live in usa,los angeles, and she loves there.
    i don’t know but before i reading your post i thought that germans are so racism.but now i think it’s not so bad living there.

    • It’s funny, I realised that (espeacially older) Germans call people sometimes after their hair-color when they don’t know the name of that person. It’s not intended to be unfriendly at all, but I guess you can get the false impression…
      Speaking about unfriendly Germans, I don’t think that they’re unfriendly but very frank in what they say. Honestly, I appreciate this a lot. If you do not like someone it’s ok here, you don’t have to pretend anything!
      On the other side, if you get a compliment you can be sure it is honest and truely meant.

  8. I love this post. I love your kids answers. they cover the basics in life, don’t they? How can you not like a country that serves BIG slices of cake???

  9. I love hearing things from a childs point of view! It also gives me comfort that outdoor living is possible in Germany and disspels the myth that one goes into hibernation during the winter months! My Eldest can’t wait to touch snow!

  10. What a great post, as seen from a kid’s POV! I sometimes, when I’m hot and bothered and angry with everyone on the Tube, try to remember the things I loved most about London when I visited as a teenager – it’s remarkable how this makes you appreciate the things you soon take for granted. And how right you are that there are proper summer AND proper winter sports, and a climate to enjoy them all in! The UK (most of it, anyway) does not really have the snow/mountains for skiing, nor any semblance of a summer for swimming!!

    That said, I may borrow your idea and do a similar post on London. I think it’s a great exercise for all expats!

  11. I agree. I like the Turkish cafes in Berlin as they sell good dark German breads and the white Turkish breads too. And very good value too.

Leave a Reply

