Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

No-One Here But Me-Oh

11 Comments

Watch this video, note the man’s bow-tie and understand why I wore one for two years and thought I was cool. Someone should have sent out an SOS for my fashion sense. This was the first pop song that crossed my consciousness, that I chose for myself over my parents’ music. I remember wandering down the corridors of my lovely school for young ladies, wearing my hideous brown winter uniform, dreaming of Sting and singing this:

Twenty-eight years later, and I’m off to see The Police tonight.

*Waaahhh! Runs off screaming. Waaahhh!*

(Will return tomorrow in adult mode to report …. *Waaahhhhhh!*)

 

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

11 thoughts on “No-One Here But Me-Oh

  1. Have fun, don’t stand so close to Sting tonight and send us a message in a bottle afterwards… The video wouldn’t play now – shame – but I might just have to dig out the CD now!

  2. I saw them in 1981 at Empire Pool, Wembley. Sting was seriously…. It was fab. Every Breath You Take.

  3. Been there, done that(bow tie and all!!)…..I’m SO jealous, have a great time!!

  4. Have a wonderful time!

  5. So? How was it? I saw the Police last summer when they came to my town. A-W-E-S-O-M-E ! Hope you felt like a kid again. Oh, did you wear a bow tie?

  6. Oh, I want to be you 🙂

  7. Has it been 28 years already?! Wow! I’ve actually had the good fortune to see Sting three times (twice in the early eighties when he was with the Police), and once, believe it or not, in the early nineties, he opened up for The Grateful Dead. Hope you had a fabulous time, and can’t wait to hear all about it!

  8. Oooh… Sting!!! EEEEEE!!!

    How was it???

  9. I saw the Police when I was young and impressionable too. Then I saw Sting do “Ne Me Quitte Pas” here as encore at a concert and have never forgotten it. Watch out for those tantra orgasms!

  10. Ooh fun! I was a fan back in the day, though I never wore a bow tie : )
    I always thought “J’aurais toujours faim de toi” was inutterably exotic and romantic.

  11. That’s exactly how I felt in 2005 when I finally got to see the original line-up of Duran Duran reunited on stage at Wembley Arena. I spent hours and hours in my teenage years obsessively watchign very single video the ever made, taping any live appearance on SABC and reading every detail of their personal lives (to this day I can tell you their birthdays and all sorts of weird biographical details about them), and my biggest wish for many years was that I had seen them on tour in the US in 1984, at the height of Beatle-like popularity. Of course, they split up and I thought I’d never get my chance… and then there was the reunion in London. It was truly awesome – they put on an amazing show for middle-age dudes (!), and clearly have all sold their souls to the devil as they look great – and they sounded even better. I was 16 again and got my money’s worth ten times over.

Leave a Reply

