Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

Litlove’s Parenting Meme

11 Comments

We have just handed over our three children to some wonderful friends for a Saturday night sleepover, and I am soon to don my Berlin party dress and head to another friend’s birthday party, from which we do not have to return till dawn should we so choose. Thusly childfree, it seems like the perfect moment to attempt Litlove’s Parenting Meme.

(And, since there has been a little, just a very very little, bit of daytime drinking, I cannot be held responsible for some of the things I may or may not say below.)

Litlove’s Parenting Meme:

How do you view your role as a parent? What are you there to do?

To love and protect. To guide and assist. To equip and prepare. To model behaviours and be consistent.

In your social circle, are mothers expected to work or are they encouraged to stay home with the child?

I know very, very few women who do not work in some way or another, but I also know very, very few women who have returned to work full-time. The short school day in Germany and the lack of adequate after-school care means that most women only do part-time or freelance work. The few I do know who work a full 40-hour week have live-in help, who collect the children from school, provide meals if necessary and play the role of parent until Mama or Papa comes home. However, the older children are, and the more independent they are able to be, the longer hours most mothers work.

How do you feel about your children’s education? What’s good about it, and what would you like to see done differently?

I am thrilled with the German kindergarten system with its emphasis on childhood, play and learning by doing. I feel it is a privilege in this highly pressurised world that my children have been allowed this gentle, fun and completely non-academic start. We are two years into the primary school system and I am satisfied thus far, though still horrified that our state requires my child to start high school in Grade Five. The school appears to cater to the lowest common denominator, which is probably the case in all state education systems and I can accept it. However, I am unhappy with the idea of my kids staying in German-only education for the rest of their schooling, so we are starting to scout around for bilingual schooling options. They exist, but at a price.

How do you share the childcare with your partner (if it is shared)? Do you tend towards different activities or different approaches to parenting?

I have been opinionated about how I want my children raised, and have been lucky in that my husband shares my views. He accepted potentially divisive things like sleep-sharing, attachment parenting, long-term breast-feeding without a murmur, and says today that our offspring are better off for it. He is a totally hands-on parent and has been from the start. While he could have chosen career paths that meant he would only see his kids at the weekend, he has always avoided what he calls “the rat-race”, and made choices that give him time with them. This is the reason we do not live in London, Johannesburg or New York. While I am still the primary care-giver, we are aiming in the long run towards a model where I work more and he cares more.

What are the most important virtues to instill in a child?

It sounds cliched, but I do think nothing beats a healthy dose of self-esteem.

What’s the relationship like between mothers at the park and the school gate? Would someone you didn’t know help you out in a stressful moment?

While I am not a fan of baby groups and forced mother-child group activities (in fact, I run screaming), the mothers whom I have met via kindergarten and school have been my life-savers. I am not everyone’s best mate, and I think some find me slightly odd, but I have some very dear friends who have kept me sane, make me laugh and love my kids. If I’m at a playground with my children, I have no trouble chatting with other Mamas if I’m in the mood, but sometimes I just want to zone out and look at the clouds.

What do you fear most for your children?

I try hard not to live in fear, but I suppose I fear something terrible happening to them. I also fear that we are making an inhospitable planet for them to live on.

How do you discipline your child and what are the errors you would put most effort into correcting?

I am one of those boring Mamas who cares about manners, and I probably overdo the repetition on that score. I don’t like violence and that is punished with time-outs on the stairs (a bad, bad thing that makes people cry). I am intolerant of whining and one of my oft-repeated phrases is “Say that to me in your pleasant voice.” Like Litlove, I find that aptly-used praise is more beneficial than lots of negative talk.

Do you think the life of a child has changed much since you were young?

Oddly enough, we are managing to replicate our South African childhood, where we spent a lot of time outdoors, walked to and from places independently of our parents and were expected to be social beings who could converse with adults and children alike here in Germany. Having said that, childhood has become more technological and we are constantly monitoring and assessing how well we are handling that. (For anyone who’s interested, Lia of the Yum Yum Cafe has been writing a fabulous series of posts on children and technology.) My kids also have a greater awareness of the world, and have travelled far more, than I ever had or did as a child.

What is the best compliment your children could pay you for your parenting skills?

My kids are good at frequent, fulsome compliments, so clearly I model praising really well. If they said I helped them to be happy and be their authentic selves, I would rest on my laurels.

Feel free to play too.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have a party dress to don …

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

11 thoughts on “Litlove’s Parenting Meme

  1. Great meme! I’ll definitely do this one soon.

    Have a fabulous time at the party. May you see the sunrise through childfree eyes.🙂

  2. Just the sort of answers I would expect from you. Now don’t forget, you have an open invitation to leave your darling and well-mannered children with me for a weekend while you spend an entire weekend in Philadelphia (I hope they won’t be too bored).

  3. Emily, Charlotte’s kids are the perfect party guests that can amuse themselves and don’t sit there stupidly waiting for you to entertain them. Yes, they might bicker from time to time (what 3 and 6 year olds don’t), but in a very funny (for non-parents) sort of way.

    Charlotte, when I usually read memes, it is to gather some insight into the blogger’s life and life’s philosophy. Reading this meme concerning a topic dear to your heart, was fun because I could see you so well and know your answers to be true.

  4. I knew you would write gorgeous answers, and you did! Thank you so much for doing this. Everyone’s answers are helping me so much to broaden my perspective on parenting and I think you are just a delightful mother.

  5. Will you be my mommy? 😉

  6. “say that to me in your pleasant voice” is also one of my most used phrases, or variations on the theme.

    Germany sounds like a great place to be bringing up young children – we’ve found a similar kindergarten atmosphere here but only because of having a Waldorf school nearby, which is a bit like having a slice of Germany flavoured with African spices on our doorstep.

  7. After spending this weekend with a pair of terrible twos, I really enjoyed this meme–an hope you had a FABULOUS night out at the party!

  8. You are a wonderful Mom!

  9. I run screaming from forced mommy-and-me socialization too🙂

  10. ‘Say that to me in your pleasant voice’ is so good, isn’t it? I use something similar on my husband when he is grumping round the house ‘Do you come in a loving, charming version?’ I like this technique because it shows the way out of a difficult situation without getting all emotional. And it forces him to smile..

  11. I love your first response. What a beautiful way to see your role as a parent. Yes, consistency and flexibility…the two qualities esstential to parenting. Is it any surprise those two are on almost opposite ends of the spectrum?

Leave a Reply

