Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

Sharing the Love

11 Comments

I have to celebrate the fact that three of my blogging friends, none of whom I have met I must add, but one can hope, have had good news recently with regard to forging relationships with publishers and literary agents. This is so exciting, not only because I have been on the blog trail with the three of them for two years now, not only because I have shared the ups and downs of being a writer with them, but also because all three are superb writers and deserve to be published, lauded and admired for their efforts. Unlike some, who become famous for blogging and then write unremarkable books, but who am I to quibble?

First up is Nova, who lives in New York, and who writes about writing and her struggles to be published with wincing, gut-wrenching frankness in her blog Distraction No. 99. Nova pitched her tween novel to an editor at Simon & Schuster based on “30 pages and a plot summary” and has received an offer. She is now busily writing the rest of the novel, while still holding down her day-job, also in publishing. Nova, your dedication to and love of writing and books inspires me.

Then, there’s the incomparable Litlove, a UK academic who blogs at Tales from the Reading Room. Litlove has created a wonderful salon for people who love to appreciate, think about and discuss books. She is kind, inclusive and writes beautifully and incisively about the books she reads. Litlove’s idea for a book on representations of motherhood in literature has been accepted for representation by an agent in London, and I can’t wait to read it once it is finished.

Flushed from hearing that news, I wondered over to another favourite and long-term blog-pal of mine, BlogLily, to hear that her thriller set in Germany during the Cold War has also been accepted for representation by an agent. Lily is a mother of three energetic boys and is a full-time lawyer who wrote her novel in the cracks and interstices of her life, and she is my hero. She has just made herself a writing-space at home, and look what happened! She found an agent!

If you haven’t already, please visit these three writers and shower them with congratulations. I am so thrilled and delighted for them, and also for us, knowing that there are going to be three superb new books on our Christmas lists in the next couple of years. Who knows, I might even get a signed copy.

**********************************

On the topic of sharing love, I was bending down in a late-spring snow storm this morning zipping a six-year-old’s coat, when she whispered tenderly to me, “Do you know what, Mummy? In your ear, you have lots of little hairs!”

Hairily yours,

Charlotte

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

11 thoughts on “Sharing the Love

  1. Oh that bit about the tiny hairs made me laugh. And thank you for sharing the love. It’s a long row to hoe to a physical book, but believe me, if it happens, I’ll be signing yours with hearts and flowers and figuring out a way to include a box of chocolates.

    You know, this week there was an article in the New York Times about how blogging can be dangerous to your health — it was about these guys who blog so ferociously that they dropped dead. Literally. Well, I just don’t see that happening to any of us. Every time I visit your blog, or the many others I check out, I find myself either laughing at something, or finding out something I didn’t know, or being inspired to do something better. It’s like going to the best party in the world. I don’t see how anyone could die of that!

  2. Yay writers! Coming in on the last section of the publishing process, sometimes I forget what a long row to hoe it is for the author.

  3. Dear Charlotte – you are the very soul of generosity and love. I have only one thing to say about this publishing malarky: You Next. Honestly, I’ve still got to write the damn thing – you could catch me up. Then we need to get Emily into print and the women from What We Said will be taking on the world!

  4. How wonderful to read about all these great things happening for your blog friends! And I agree – somebody who can hold down a full-time job, maintain a blog and keep a family together while putting together a saleable book proposal definitely gets my vote as hero! I just have to echo the previous commenter – You Next.

    Even if only so I can sell the scandalous story of your hirsute ears to the National Enquirer once you’re famous.

    :o)

  5. Thank you so much! I’m blushing! I’m so very touched that you posted this.

    I am so thrilled for Bloglily and Litlove!

    And I’ll echo too: YOU NEXT!

  6. You’re next, you know. It’s all so exciting, isn’t it?

  7. I have to chime in with what the others have said: You Next, Charlotte!!

    I knew about Nova but I didn’t know about LitLove and Bloglily. This is very inspiring and uplifting news and thank you for sharing it.

    I also laughed about the little hairs. My diddums has taken to pointing at my chest in public and whooping: “Mummy’s BOOBIES!” which is something I’d prefer him not to share!

  8. Thanks for sharing the linky love. I love finding new blogs to enjoy (although I have been known to trawl your blogroll for inspriation since you have such impeccible taste!!).

  9. Oh goodness, how did I miss Litlove’s announcement? This is all so very exciting. I have to head over to her site right now.
    It’s certainly encouraging, isn’t it,especially as we are embroiled in our own writing?

  10. I love the intimacy your daughter’s comment reveals. And congrats to the writers!

  11. I must check in with Bloglily now I’m back on parole. Hairy ears – dudelet’s commented on mine before now. Do hobbits have hairy ears or was that toes?

Leave a Reply

