Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

Charlotte With An “E”

12 Comments

Six months ago, I was Siddartha, but now I am:


You’re Anne of Green Gables!
by L.M. Montgomery
Bright, chipper, vivid, but with the emotional fortitude of cottage
cheese, you make quite an impression on everyone you meet. You’re impulsive, rash,
honest, and probably don’t have a great relationship with your parents. People hurt
your feelings constantly, but your brazen honestly doesn’t exactly treat others with
kid gloves. Ultimately, though, you win the hearts and minds of everyone that matters.
You spell your name with an E and you want everyone to know about it.


Take the Book Quiz
at the Blue Pyramid.

Actually, I have a great relationship with my parents and my emotional fortitude is steely, but I’m still thrilled to be Anne. The entire Anne of Green Gables series is up there with Girl of the Limberlost as the books I drowned in as an 11-year-old when my life as I knew it was falling apart. Anne’s loving nature, her madness and her ability to get lost in books just like me were all comforting and inspirational. And Gilbert Blake, as Susan pointed out, was hot.

The novel itself is 100 years old this year, and to celebrate, Puffin have released a prequel called Before Green Gables. This seeks to uncover Anne’s early upbringing and how she was passed from foster home to foster home. I don’t imagine I’ll be reading it, but I enjoyed hearing the author’s interview on Radio 4. You can listen to it here, on Women’s Hour, source of 90% of my information.

I’m sure Anne would have listened to Women’s Hour.

Wouldn’t she?

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

12 thoughts on “Charlotte With An “E”

  1. Hello. I found you at Bloglily where we both commented on the same post (“Change My Life…”). What a treat your site is! I will definitely be back.

    I didn’t grow up on the Anne of Green Gables books…but read them as an adult, which was a great experience. I don’t think I’ll be reading the prequel either. I have been to Prince Edward Island and visited all of the touristy things associated with Lucy Maude Montgomery–I certainly could have skipped those! But I was deeply impressed by the landscape, the people, and the towns and villages on PEI and also with the way Montgomery got it all so right.

    Let’s see…who am I? Well, there’s a bit of gender-bending involved, but sometimes I am Pip in Great Expectations.

    Deborah

  2. Weird synchronicity…I was just thinking of Anne today! I love those books very much. Gilbert was definitely a catch, even if he called her Carrots.

  3. Finally, a quiz I really want to take…Thanks!

  4. When I was a kid I always got called Anne of Green Gables because I had long red hair that was often in plaits. I took huge offence at the comparison! In retrospect, I’m laughing at how angry I used to get. I read the books but couldn’t stand Anne… I’ll have to reread them to discover exactly what it was about her that I didn’t like! (I have a vague memory that she reenacted the Lady of Shallott and that I was disgusted by this – but why?!)

  5. the emotional fortitude of cottage cheese??? what is that supposed to mean? tsss …
    i got siddharta, don’t remember if i did this already.
    i need to read anne of green gables. no idea why i never did.

  6. Definitely in my top 5 favorite books. Along with Little Women. It’s amazing how many of my childbooks are still my favorites even thought I have read much “greater” works since then.

  7. Girl of the Limberlost – I thought I was the only person I knew who read and loved that, I still have my copy, together with all my copies of the Anne of GG books, How I immersed myself in those, I could even SMELL the house, and I KNEW Matthew who was so sweet and kind to her, and how Marilla seemed so harsh and unyeilding but loved her in the end. Oh the joys of childhood reading!

  8. You read Girl of the Limberlost too!! My mother gave me that book, it was one of her favourites, and I loved it too. I have to go back and reread it again…but I can hardly believe you read that and all the Anne books, and lived half around the world from me! No wonder books are the greatest things ever invented, they cross time and space!!! Please tell me you read one of Nancy Drew, Trixie Belden, or Cherry Ames (nurse series), too? Or Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm?
    I did the quiz *sigh* you’ll have to go look, Lolita 6 months ago and now Love in the time of Cholera, but how they described it!! I feel like bookslut right about now…..
    hope you had a happy Easter, I survived and kids didn’t get sick on chocolate! (but they nearly did)! will post pics of Nigella’s cake that I made, in the next day or two….it was fabulous!!!

  9. PS Lucky you to get Anne of Green Gables!!!
    and one of your commentators mentioned Little Women….that was one of my all-time favourites, I read it so many times – Jo was a writer, how could I not love it? though I hated so much when Beth died and cried every time…..I even like the movie with Winona Ryder (I love Gabriel Byrne, *sigh*)!!

  10. Welcome, Exuberant Lady. Thanks for stopping by.

    Henitserk, with Mr Darcy and Gilbert, we seem to be in competition here.

    Anna, let me know when you do and which book you are.

    Helen, I can see how that could have been irritating for you. Funnily enough, I also found the Lady of Shallot scene hard to take. Even then, I thought Anne was being a little OTT.

    Bine, welcome back! Are you okay? Anne is a lovely read, and the Exuberant Lady above says she read her for the first time as an adult.

    Radical Mama, many of my favourite books are books I read in childhood. Perhaps it’s because as children we allow ourselves to become so transported. Speaking of Little Women, I’ve just read March by Geraldine Brooks which tells the story of Mr March who is away at war during the telling of LW. Really worth reading.

    Herschelian, I have a friendship that is 14 years old and which started because we were the only people we knew who had read Girl of the Limberlost! There should be a GOTL club. I look forward to giving it to my children to read.

    Hi Susan! I read and loved both Nancy Drew and Cherry Ames, and Little Women too, of course. I also enjoyed the movie.

  11. I loved all of the Anne books and still occasionally dip into them. Mainly to make sure that Anne and Gilbert are still together…

    I’m not sure that I want to know what happened to Anne before Green Gables, much like I’m unsure whether I really needed to know what was happening to Mr March (yes, March was worth reading. But.)

  12. I just read Anne of Green Gables for the first time and I fell in love! What optimism and whimsy! I want to read the whole series even if it is about 20 years later than I should have done!

Leave a Reply

