Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

Alcoholic Christmas Muffins

8 Comments

Has anyone else noticed how much fun Christmas is for the children? They’re the ones getting stockings filled with treats, presents under the Christmas tree, and, if they live in Germany, daily mini-treats in their Advent calendars. Children get to decorate the gingerbread men, decorate and eat the Christmas cookies and in our house, they even get to decorate the tree. The grown-ups don’t get a look-in.

Here’s a German muffin recipe to console the grown-ups and bring them a little Christmas cheer. It contains amaretto and dark chocolate and is not for children, unless they have very sophisticated palates.

Amaretto and Chocolate Muffins:*

Ingredients:
150g flour
100g ground almonds
2 tsps baking powder
1 pinch salt
2 tsps vanilla extract (or if you live in Germany, one packet vanilla sugar)
2 eggs
120g sugar
150g softened butter
2 tbsps amaretto (I doubled this)
60g dark chocolate shavings

Method:
Heat the oven to 180°c.
Prepare a muffin tray with 12 muffin cases.
Pour yourself a generous glass of red wine and commence sipping.
Sift the flour, baking powder, salt.
Have another large sip of red wine.
Beat the eggs with the vanilla extract, sugar and amaretto till it’s creamy.
Slowly beat in the softened butter.
Mix the wet and dry ingredients.
Taste, with bare finger.
Taste again, to ensure it’s adequately alcoholic. If not, add more amaretto.
Mix in the chocolate shavings.
Eat the leftover 40g of chocolate.
Fill each muffin case two-thirds full.
Bake in the oven for 20 to 25 minutes.
While you wait, eat any remaining muffin dough and sip your red wine. If necessary, pour yourself a second glass.
Remove the muffins from the oven. Allow to cool (about a minute will do) and then eat with your red wine.

I had one for breakfast this morning with coffee. I think I have a hangover.

* Apologies for the metric measures.

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

8 thoughts on “Alcoholic Christmas Muffins

  1. It’s only half past eight in the morning here so it probably would not be advisable for me to start sipping on red wine yet…I guess;) We are going to be doing Xmas baking and decorating the tree today.

    I know what you mean about Xmas being fun for children. Last year was quite sad as my husband and I had very few presents under the tree. After I unwrapped the earrings he got me, and the chocolates I had bought and wrapped up MYSELF there was nothing to do but watch Z unwrap present after present after present and then excitedly assemble/ try on/play with etc all her new things. I know as a mother her joy should have been enough for me… but it wasn’t! This year will be different if only we get our big delivery from Amazon soon.

  2. oh, that sounds very tasty. it will be worth the time spent doing conversions! (actually, someone gave me a handy conversion chart refrigerator magnet for christmas a couple years ago, and now i shall have a use for it.)

  3. I’m off to buy ingredients, find my conversion chart and the wine is already breathing. No need to run out and buy wine, it’s a staple in my house.

    Staples list (not in order of importance)
    canned tuna
    eggs
    bread
    wine
    chocolate
    milk

  4. Oh, yummy yum yum yum…I am going to try this.

  5. Never apologise for metric! The rest of the world should be doing the apologising for making us use cubits, ounces and rods. It’s the 21st century people – get with the plan!

  6. If only I liked alcohol! Maybe I could make them and simply double the chocolate? Perhaps sipping eggnog instead, though that might make me too full to eat the muffins.

    Oh the quandaries of the holidays!

  7. I am *so* making these this weekend. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

Leave a Reply

