Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

A Reading Meme …

12 Comments


Who Should Paint You: Roy Lichtenstein


Larger than life, your personality overshadows everyone in the room
A painter would tend to portray you with a bit of added flair!

What Artist Should Paint Your Portrait?

 

… because I’m worth it.

Thanks, Dewey, for the much-needed NaBlo content today.

1. Do you remember learning to read? How old were you?

I was not a prodigy. I learnt to read at school in Grade One with the rest of the kids (must have been age 6). I was quick to learn though and was soon ahead of my class.

2. What do you find most challenging to read?

I’m not mad about reading in German. I think it’s because reading is such an escape for me, and such an intense pleasure, that I don’t particularly want to be doing in another Sprache.

3. What are your library habits?

I take the kids now and again to choose library books, scan the tiny English section hopefully and then leave, disappointed, with a pile of German children’s stories under my arm.

4. Have your library habits changed since you were younger?

I was a frequent library user at school and at university but then the books were all in English, so it was a lot more exciting and the choice was wider.

5. How has blogging changed your reading life?

I pick up recommendations from other bloggers. I’m also conscious as I read a book of a line of discussion in my head about whether I’m going to blog this book or not. Like Dewey, I spend a lot of time blogging that I used to spend reading.

6. What percentage of your books do you get from new book stores, second hand book stores, the library, online exchange sites, online retailers, other?

About 50% new, 20% online retailers, 20% book club and loans from friends, 10% online exchange.

7. How often do you read a book and not review it on your blog? What are your reasons for not blogging about a book?

I only review about a fifth of what I read. My decision to review is usually some kind of emotional connection with the book since I also feel I want to review it well and not just give a synopsis. Sometimes I read it so long ago, I’ve forgotten it and wouldn’t have much of interest to say. Sometimes I think someone else has written a more interesting review and I wouldn’t want to parrot them. Sometimes (as with Darkmans) I’m just plain intimidated.

8. What are your pet peeves about the way people treat books?

I am a bit rough on my own books, but, having been reprimanded, I do try to be respectful of other people’s books. I tend to handle my books rather, love them a little too firmly. I dog-ear them, write in them and read them in the bath. Sorry. I am guilty of book abuse.

9. Do you ever read for pleasure at work?

Don’t go to work anymore, but I do remember some guilty reading in the loos on a boring day.

10. When you give people books as gifts, how do you decide what to give them?

Books are the best presents! I give people books they will like, or newly published books that I secretly want to read too. I think I’m generally good at choosing presents for people, and that goes for books too. My favourite present to receive is a large pile of lovely books, preferably accompanied by chocolate.

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

12 thoughts on “A Reading Meme …

  1. Hurray! Great meme and one I will undoubtedly be stealing one of these fine days.

  2. Pingback: sensual and gorgeous? well, well … « sleepless in cologne

  3. I luurve getting books as gifts, and I love giving them, in fact I have just ordered a whole lot of books I will be giving as Xmas gifts to friends and family. And as for libraries – I’m a library junkie, I belong to three. One of the best things about moving house recently was that in this new borough there is a whole new library system to play with!

  4. Reading is an escape for me too. Which is why I don’t often blog about books I’m reading, because they tend to be very lightweight “what would happen if Mr. Darcy reincarnated as the man next door?” type books. Or fantasy classics that everyone’s probably read already.

  5. I should be painted by Andy Warhol (??!) That would be okay except I don’t like his work at all.

    I love books, I love getting them as presents, and I recall last year before Christmas Bloglily’s posts about book stacks, which inspired my husband to create a bookstack for me for the holiday. Very wonderful.

  6. it seems gustav klimt should paint me. i was a little undecided about one of the answers and almost ended up with roy lichtenstein, too, but then i decided on my first answer, which was more honest with myself i think. it’s really funny how these silly little bloggy thing start you thinking.

    i love the meme. will definitely do it, but i still have your other booky meme to do. soon come.

  7. Wonderful meme! I’ll be doing it one of these days, I’m sure.

  8. I’m with you, books and chocolate are my idea of the perfect gifts.

    You’re the first person I’ve seen mention reading Darkmans, and I’m really curious because I want to read it myself.

  9. Pingback: A Reading Meme! « Of Books and Bicycles

  10. Pingback: A reading meme « White Thoughts

  11. Pingback: A reading meme « Further Musings of a Librarian

  12. Pingback: a reading meme « sleepless in cologne

Leave a Reply

