Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

How I Love A Booky Meme

7 Comments

Aphra tagged me to write about books. My rubber arm duly twisted, here is the Booky Meme:

Number of books you own:

Between my husband, my kids and I, probably a few thousand. What is visible to the public eye is the proverbial tip of the iceberg, because downstairs in the Keller in the Room That May One Day Be Someone’s Office, there are many many more. I need to give some away, but am ridiculously attached to them. They spark memories and tell stories of other times in my life. I really like owning my own fiction and reference library (with special focus on literary, feminist and film theory, travel, history and all things geeky).

Last book you bought:

The Road by Cormac McCarthy. I haven’t read it yet – it’s joined the teetering piles of TBRs scattered around my bedroom.

Last book someone else bought you (I had to add this one. Sorry to the person who invented the meme):

My husband understands the book addiction and his latest treasure trove for me contained: Darkmans by Nicola Barker (which I’m presently reading and can’t wait to post about, so fabulous it is), Mr Pip (which I’m reading next) and the now much pored-over Rough Guide to Berlin (which I must post off to my friend in South Africa as a reminder of our lovely week together).

Last book read:

Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult. Strong on narrative, but with superficial characterisation, as always.

Five Books that Mean a Lot to Me:

This is hard because I’m not a great re-reader. I tear through books and move on, and I’m realising now that all those classics I like to say I’ve read, I have completely forgotten.

How To Eat by Nigella Lawson. Despite the tragic lack of photos, this is the book that got me interested in cooking. It is peppered with great wisdom and I love her lack of issues around food. I now have a large cookbook shelf in the kitchen, but this is the one that I always return to and always find inspirational.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by What’s ‘er Name. The book I was reading in the bath when Daisy decided to give us a surprise home birth. It’s a book that’s now understandably close to my heart. For the first few months of her life, I called her “Hufflepuff” which seem to suit her style of being.

The Narnia books by CS Lewis. They lifted my heart, comforted me and assured me that life would go on at a time when I believed it was hardly possible.

Guess How Much I Love You by Sam McBratney and Anita Jeram. The first book I read to each of my babies. I think I got more out of it than they ever did, and I’m sure it taught me more lessons about parental and unconditional love than any parenting manual. “I love you right up to the moon and back!”

The poetry of William Wordsworth. Hilariously described by AA Gill in last week’s Sunday Times as “lyric brown sauce, an unctuous, fruity slop that’s supposed to be a complement, but actually drowns nature in rhyming sycophancy”, Wordsworth’s poetry was my first experience of words as transcendental. They made my soul tingle and I don’t care if that makes me the literary equivalent of ketchup. I am clearly v. middle-brow.

Consider yourself tagged!

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

7 thoughts on “How I Love A Booky Meme

  1. I love your list of five books – which are all high on my list except for the ketchup, though daffodils still do it for me! I also love that it’s not a highbrow, literary list – makes me feel better about my unliterary reading matter these days.

  2. I have How to Eat as well and I love it! It’s a superb bedtime read too, not just for finding recipes.

    And I adore the Narnia books…

    good list.

  3. I love this meme – particularly the five books part of it. I’m always comforted, too, by knowing that other people have thousands of books…. I’m very tempted to do this, only I can’t recall what I last bought! I think I have an instant wipe-out mechanism in my brain to avoid guilt!

  4. Well, I’m a Wordsworth fan too — phooey on those snobs who can’t appreciate good poetry when they see it!

  5. i so have to do this. i consider myself tagged, but i’ll need a while – i can’t even make a rough guess at how many books i own. many of them are still in boxes and i’ll have to do a quick count …
    i love the poetry of william wordsworth. i don’t know why that should make us the literary equivalent of ketchup.
    i’ll link back to you as soon as i get this meme done!

  6. I would not have guessed those books, but like you, don´t go big on re-reading, there´s so much to read first time round.

  7. Pingback: the booky meme « sleepless in cologne

Leave a Reply

