Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

The Saturday Night Meme

13 Comments

We’re having a quiet night in, having had a fabulous party last night. As a special treat, our daughters (7 and 5) were allowed to stay up and enjoy the party. Their goal was to make midnight, and they did. Ollie flagged and slept in his pram, but the girls put on their dancing shoes and grooved. When the special 12 o’clock moment arrived, Lily rushed over to where Daisy and I were dancing.

L: Daisy, Daisy guess what?! It’s MIDNIGHT!!!

D: Scream! (Jumps up and down on one spot.) Scream!

L: Mummy! It’s midnight!

Mummy: Wahhh! Midnight! (Performs silly dance of joy.)

Shortly after that I took them all off to bed, myself included. When the Otter girls peak, it’s not pretty.

So while my husband monitors the state of the world from the horizontal position on the sofa, and I take a brief break from writing my monthly column on the state of (expensive commodity), here is the Saturday Night Meme, otherwise known as the Five Things Meme, courtesy of the lovely Cook Sister!:

What Were You Doing 10 years ago?

I had been living in Germany for a year, and I was about to go on holiday to Tuscany with my mother, my aunt and my long-suffering husband to stay in a mill near Lucca with a mad English alcoholic who insulted us, lied about the opening hours of the museums in Florence, but cooked very excellent breakfasts.

Five Snacks You Enjoy:

Chocolate

Blueberries

Popcorn

Apples

Mixed unsalted nuts

Five Songs You Know All the Lyrics to:

The Marseillaise by Claude Joseph Rouget de Lisle

Three Little Birds by Bob Marley

Scatterlings of Africa by Johnny Clegg

Wishing (If I Had a Photograph of You) by Flock of Seagulls

The Wheels on the Bus

Five Things You Would Do If You Were a Millionaire

Fund Rape Crisis Centres in South Africa

Pay off my mother’s mortgage

Purchase a house with an office/retreat/writing room for me and me only

Buy my hubby his dream car

Take my family on a lovely holiday to somewhere hot and sunny

Five Bad Habits

Procrastination

Blogging when I should be working

Untidiness

A lackadaisical attitude to my answering machine

Getting snappy and tense when I’m running late

Five Things You Like Doing:

An early morning game drive followed by a massive breakfast and a nap

Having a day to myself with nothing to achieve

Getting lost in the flow whether it’s of writing, meditation, yoga or a great book

My Sunday morning lie-in with coffee, my laptop and a pile of books

Dancing till midnight with my daughters

Five Things You Would Never Wear Again:

Knee-high socks

Miniskirts

Jumpsuits/Dungarees

Pigtails

Velvet Alice bands

Five Favourite Toys:

Apple laptop

Food Processor and other baking apparatus

Blue vases for pink roses

Bead necklaces

New pink shoes

 


I have no idea where my daughter gets her love of accessories from, really I don’t

I usually don’t tag, but I have some lovely new blog-pals who I want to invite into the playground. Paul, Simmone, Letters, Trousers, Bine, will you play? Everyone else is, of course, welcome.

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

13 thoughts on “The Saturday Night Meme

  1. of course i would, but i already did that one!
    here’s the read, if you like:
    http://bineblog.wordpress.com/2007/06/12/another-meme/
    thank you for the invitation!

  2. Does a lackadasical attitude towards your answering machine mean that you don’t necessarily respond to every message that’s left on it? If so, then me too, but I look on it as refusing to allow it to rule my life. There always seems something tyranical about the answering machine. “I’ve left a message and you must get back to me even if I am the last person on earth you want to speak to.” Or perhaps I’m just anti-social.

  3. Sounds like a fun party. Mine have never made the midnight hour but last night were chatting till part 10.30 when we had friends to sleep over, and they still wake up at the crack of 7am. We’re working up to have a party party with music and dancing, they may well manage a Cinderella then/

    Thanks for the reminder, Cooksister tagged me too and I haven’t yet done it.

  4. What were you doing ten years ago….. dreaming about how I would be relaxing in the Cote D’Azur writing by the pool in ten years time…. ummmm..

  5. I will play, Charlotte, thank you! It might not be immediately but I will certainly do it, it looks like an interesting meme. I’ve only scanned through yours so far since I’ve been away for a couple of days and am tired (though pleasantly so) – I’ll be back to have a proper look soon 🙂

  6. I’ve been tagged for the very first time (blushes)
    Thanks, Charlotte! I have another post already lined up, then will go a-meeming.
    🙂

  7. Another meme for a rainy day…This one looks like fun.

  8. That’s quite a bit of pink in that last photo. I think I had those shoes when I was little too!

  9. Charlotte, we hare the same five bad habits!! I’ll get onto this soon 🙂

  10. We ‘hare’ the same 5 bad habits! Perhaps typos should be my 6th?!

  11. Pingback: Summer evening meme « Letters Home to You

  12. Thanks for your great answers Charlotte! I am thrilled to see from your answers that I’m not the only procrastinator around here (I’m also a bit guilty of Vice no. 2 but can’t really say that on my own blog as colleagues know how to find it 😉 And you’re a closet 80s music fan! Your holiday with the mad Englishman sounds hilarious btw.

  13. Pingback: Quizzes and Memes « Tales from the Reading Room

Leave a Reply

