Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

The Bliss List

13 Comments

After reading Teuchter’s and Aphra’s lists of things that made them blissful, I couldn’t resist making one of my own. One of the things I noticed in their lists and in mine is that very few blissful things are things we’d pay for. They are either emotions, sensations or memories. We might love a new pair of shoes, but they wouldn’t constitute bliss. Anyway, it made me happy. Try it. It feels good.

Charlotte’s Bliss List:

  • The gurgle of my two-year-old’s laughter when I kiss the tickle-spot under his chin
  • A salad of green asparagus, cherry tomatoes and fried slices of halloumi cheese
  • Reading the first sentence of a new book and knowing I’m going to love it
  • Bathing late at night while my family sleeps, with that new book and some lavender essence in the water
  • Vistas of hills and trees
  • The start of a journey to somewhere new or somewhere deeply loved
  • Chai tea lattes
  • A good sentence, preferably written by me
  • A clear blue sky
  • An early morning walk
  • Dancing with my children
  • Watching my seven-year-old fall in love with reading
  • The silken waterfall of my five-year-old’s hair
  • Making my husband laugh
  • Having girlfriends who get me
  • Eating alfresco
  • Being barefoot
  • The smells of lemon, rosemary, sage, coriander, vanilla, rose, lavender, thyme – though not necessarily all together
  • Being alone in my house when it’s clean and tidy and there’s nothing to do but read
  • Pink roses in a blue jug

 

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

13 thoughts on “The Bliss List

  1. hehe lovely idea. nice blog you have here.

  2. You like the same kinds of things as me. I am addicted to chai tea lattes!! The second last item on your list sounds like heaven to me!

  3. Combine going barefoot with eating alfresco (possibly on the balcony or in the Botanic Gardens) and you have my idea of heaven…

    You are so right — bliss can rarely be bought or sought. It is in those small moments that just happen and our minds are quiet, or open, enough to notice.

  4. Pingback: Bliss is... « White Thoughts

  5. This may not be a tagging situation but this is a great idea so I’m going to consider myself tagged. How well you get to the sweetness of life.

  6. I love the outdoors. Nothing better than a hammock, a book, some sun, a slight breeze, and a cool glass of water. That’s pure bliss!

  7. A few years ago I kept a tiny notebook with a long list of blissful things. I had pages and pages of food, scents, activities, favorite restaurants, CDs, books etc. Your post makes me want to continue the notebook, I’m sure I have a lot of new ideas!

  8. How blissful, and I love the accompanying photo (a much better choice, I suppose – -and depending on one’s perspective — than one of you in your blissful bath). We seem to share a lot of the same ideas about bliss.

  9. Pingback: PressPosts / User / Gaxxia / Submitted

  10. Yep. That’s the right feeling. I have written two of those already, and it sure feels great to read them again once in a while:
    Mellow moments
    Oh no, they can’t take that away from me

  11. (previous attempt was caught as spam, methinks — new attempt with just one link).
    Yep. That’s the right feeling. I have written two of those already, and it sure feels great to read them again once in a while, especially the first one:
    Mellow moments

  12. Oh my, what a thought: Being alone in my house when it’s clean and tidy and there’s nothing to do but read.

    Definitely a fat slice of heaven.

  13. this is an exceptional list! I will have to think of my own.

Leave a Reply

