Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

Happy Birthday to my Blog

24 Comments

On March 17 last year I wrote my first-ever blog post and flung it out into the ether. I was going to let the event pass quietly and move into The Blog – Year 2 without mentioning it, but then I read that the lovely, erudite Dorothy from Of Books and Bicycles is also celebrating her blog anniversary today. Synchronicity! I couldn’t let that go unmentioned.

Dorothy talks of how blogging has enhanced her reading habits, and I certainly feel the same way. I would never have read Madame Bovary or Anna Karenina had it not been for inspiring posts from other bloggers. I wouldn’t have had the entire Stephanie Plum series to relish had it not been for one kind blogging friend, or been the grateful recipient of reading matter from New Zealand and Australia.

Charlotte’s Web has also made me new friendships, which I am most grateful for. I recently had the experience of meeting someone after having read his blog, and it felt odd but good. I also seem to spend a lot of time trying to persuade my friends to start blogs. Some of them look at me strangely, others want to, but aren’t sure where they’d find the time.

I love the constant writing. It’s proved to me that I can write frequently despite having three children, work, a house, a social life and a husband to maintain. I’ve watched other bloggers write novels and felt admiring, astonished and proud of them. My unfinished novel has had more attention, but not enough. I’ve had a private pact with another blogger to complete some creative writing this month. Our plan was to each write a short story and egg each other on to finish it. For some reason, the characters of my novel took over and I wrote about them instead. I wonder how hers is going? Perhaps she’ll read this and email me to tell me.

I wish I could say I had fabulous goals for my blog this year. I don’t really. I hope to keep it up, to maintain friendships and make new ones, and have something entertaining to say. It’s been a great experiment. Thanks to you for making it so.

*** exits stage left, sniffing into tissue ***

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

24 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to my Blog

  1. Happy 1st “BLOG YEAR” Charlotte!
    It has been an imense joy reading here and thanks to your encouragement I am also slowly finding my feet in the blogsphere.
    Here’s to many more wonderful times reading your space.

  2. Happy Blog Anniversary Charlotte!
    I always enjoy reading what you post, sometimes they give me something to think about, sometimes I find myself shaking my head in agreement and muttering “thats just what I think”, and I have learned a few things about living in Germany from you. What is particularly interesting about blog friendships is that they often bridge the age divide which in real life makes it quite difficult to make new friendships.
    Keep on blogging -please!

  3. Happy blog anniversary Charlotte! It must have been a good day last year for starting blogs 🙂 I’ve very much enjoyed reading you and I look forward to many more of your posts!

  4. Happy Blogiversary Charlotte. I ‘ve really enjoyed getting to know you this year. My blog turns one soon too, same day as Planet Nomad I think. If I have the time I’ll make us all a virtual cake in celebration, life is a bit hectic at the moment haven’t had much time fo rwriting. I’m so impressed with how you manage to post well written pieces so often even when you’re busy. Looking forward to another year of reading.

  5. Happy Blog anniversary from me too! I have to say that your blog ambitions sound fantastic to me. And how you blog at all with three children remains a mystery.

    Oh and I love the title:).

    Kathryn x

  6. Happy Blog Birthday, Charlotte.

  7. Happy Anniversary!

    Wow, looks like March is quite the popular month to start blogging – as you know, my blog turned two last week, plus the several others who have spoken up in just these few comments.

    I wonder if there’s a reason for that…

  8. Oh well done! One year. Good for you – so many people give it up…I have been going for 2 years now and it is so much part of my life I couldn’t imagine not having a blog. It has brought a few wonderful new friends into my life as well.

    I also find it amazing how it motivates me to write, when I struggled to get anything out pre-blog days.

    Here’s to another year Charlotte..and your short story ‘challenge’ sounds good. I am intrigued, must admit.

  9. Happy blogoversary! I love reading about your very different life from mine.

  10. Happy blog anniversary Charlotte!

  11. Happy anniversary! Here’s to many more posts!

    from (one of) your devoted lurker(s), Francesca

  12. Tanya, thank you! I’m so thrilled that you like blogging too.

    Hi Ms Herschelian. I agree that blogging friendships do cross potential age divides, and I find that wonderful.

    Happy blog anniversary to you, Dorothy. I look forward to keeping an eye on how things progress at Of Books and Bicycles.

    Thanks, Kit. It has been fun getting to know you this year too. I think regular posting is essential and I do try to keep up-to-date. If there’s a choice between folding a load of laundry and writing a blog post, the post always wins.

    Thanks, Megan!

    Jennifer, there’s something about March – Ides? the year turning? out with the old, in with the new? – that seems to have an effect. A couple of people have also retired, or thought about retiring, their blogs this month. It seems to be a month for change.

    Wendz, I was never a journal person. Whenever I tried to keep a diary, I felt acutely self-conscious. Something about writing for an audience removes the self-consciousness for me, and helps me try to shape something that might be of interest to someone else. It’s a lovely connection, one which I really appreciate.

    Hi Ms Penguin. Why thank you! I like the insight into your life too.

    Thanks, Ash!

    Francesca, I’m totally bucked that you de-lurked to say hallo. Feel free to do so again …

  13. Happy Blog Anniversary, Charlotte! I adore your blog, and it’s been wonderful to get to know you. Here’s to many more happy years on the blogosphere!

  14. Hey, congratulations. Glad to have found you x

  15. Congratulations on your anniversary! I’m so surprised to find what a relatively short time everyone has been blogging. I thought I was the last (and extremely late) one to jump out here, but it seems I wasn’t so late after all. Can’t wait to see what you have in store for us in year 2.

  16. Happy blog birthday.

  17. Happy Anniversary Charlotte! Thank you for your wonderful wit and writing.

  18. Happy anniversary. Strangely enough, yours is the third blog in my blogroll to turn one in the past week. I wonder whether there is something your blog might like as a ‘birthday’ present.

  19. Thanks, everyone for the good wishes. I was feeling a little blogged-out but you’ve reinspired me to keep going. Mandarine, thanks for the kind offer! How about some tips on ways to track my site stats? I just use the WordPress tools but wouldn’t mind something a little more specific.

  20. Yay Charlotte — I turned one on March 7 and a considerably older number on March 5 and I think it is just a confluence of wonderful energy that so many of us have the same beginning date.

    I’ve loved your blog from the beginning of my discovery of it and I love seeing it evolve. (The kites are a wonderful addition.) xo, BL

  21. I’ll try to help out. I have to get familiar with the wordpress tools first.

  22. I take my hat off to you. Very inspiring 🙂

  23. Happy blog birthday Charlotte! I think that your goals sound fabulous as they are. Yours is one of the first I look to each day for new posts; ones that make me think or laugh or smile or otherwise start my day on a positive note. Thank you for experimenting last March 🙂

    (Now, as to site stats, I could probably point you in a direction or two, depending on what you are looking for!)

  24. Hi Bloglily, isn’t it funny, all these March baby blogs? There was definitely some kind of energy going on last year.

    Mandarine, just a link to the Google Analytics you use would be good. Nothing fancy.

    Thanks, Bindi. Looking forward to celebrating your blog birthday with you …

    Thanks, Kerryn and welcome back. Hmmm, about the stats, I’m not terribly sure what I want. I guess I’d like to know more about where my site traffic is coming from.

Leave a Reply

