Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

Blogs That Make Me …

28 Comments

Well, I wasn’t chosen to be a finalist for the South African blog awards (watch the infighting here), but I WAS chosen by Courtney to receive a Thinking Blogger Award. Yay! Thanks Courtney! This means I get to put a nifty little icon up and I can nominate five other blogs that make me think. This was started by The Thinking Blogger in an attempt to improve content on the web. Many wonderful, thinking bloggers have already been nominated, so I won’t repeat their nominations here.

Without further ado, here are five bloggers who make me think:

Aphra at Danger of Eclectic Shock
Solnushka at Verbosity leads to unclear, inarticulate things
Ms Melancholy at Confessions of a Psychotherapist
Ms Make Tea at Make Tea Not War
Ms Penguin at Penguin Unearthed

I’m not stopping there! I’m in the nomination mood! It’s a rollercoaster ride from hereon in! Below you will find the Charlotte’s Web Awards for Blogs that Make Me …

Inspired to write:

Helen at A Was Alarmed
YogaMum at Yoga Gumbo
Nova at Distraction no. 99
Diana at Diaphanous
JadePark at Writing Under a Pseudonym

Want to make art, sew and cook:

Lia at Yum Yum Cafe (every post is accompanied by a beautiful collage)
Megan at The Scent of Water (if I keep mentioning the green and white quilt often enough, maybe she’ll make me one)
Kerryn at White Thoughts (I still haven’t forgotten her white chocolate and raspberry cheesecake. And she knits.)
Kathryn at From Page to Plate and Kathryn Cooks With Jamie (cooking, but with added erudition)
Ash at Stitched in Holland (watch the girl cook, knit, embroider, quilt and garden)

Laugh:

Ree at Confessions of a Pioneer Woman
Reed at Out of Ideas
Ms Waffle at Belgian Waffle
Domestic Slackstress at 8 Centimeters Deluded
Bindi Nestor at epossums

Go places:

Ms Healing Magic Hands at The Havens (If she could take me rafting, that would be good. I’d like to see an otter.)
Jennifer at Coasting Richly (Her photographs make me want to see South America)
Kit at Food and Family (Makes me want to go home)
Tanya at Just Me (A trip to the Cadbury’s factory would be good, or a return visit to the potteries, perhaps …)
Wendz at A Baguette on My Table (France is calling.)

And last, but not at all least, an award (or more of a prod) to the Blog That Makes Me Want to Hear More. My oldest friend – in that she’s the friend that I’ve known since I was six, not that she is elderly – and favourite wit, I give you, tah dah …

The Pillow Blogger (Come on, Ms PB, you know you want to …)

Now I’m off to my Oscar party, clutching my icon. I shall try very hard not to get drunk and start a fight with the organisers of the SA Blog Awards.

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

28 thoughts on “Blogs That Make Me …

  1. Congratulations on your award! Your blog certainly makes me think, and I find myself telling my husband about what I read in your blog.

  2. Thanks for the punt dollink. BIG pressure. Am blogging madly on my pillow each night but yet to put words to cyberspace again. Have new laptop and gone wireless. Should be no excuse.

  3. Thanks for the link, hon.

    *air kisses*

    Mwua! Mwua!

    Aphra

  4. Oooh, what a great idea to list those that make you do things other than think. I’ll have to check out some of these.

  5. AAh, thanks for the award/nomination (?). Don’t feel bad about the South African blog thing. Those things are always dominated by cliques and have little to do with how good a blog you write.

  6. What a nice thing Charlotte. Blogging does seem to lead to navel-gazing and other self-absorbing activities, so it’s nice to see others thanked and acknowledged.

  7. Thanks for the link Charlotte 🙂

    I know Kit tried to nominate you, but had some kind of technical difficulty. Let’s blame technology!

    Also, not to be a stickler but, umm, (*cough* Central America *cough*)

  8. Well this post makes me want to check out all those other blogs! What an inspirational force blogs can be.

  9. Thanks for the link! I am honored!

    Hhhhmmm, I should get back to blogging about revising my novel…actually I should start revising my novel, and then blog about it 😉

  10. Charlotte, I was going through this, thinking what a great idea, and what a great post… And then, what do you know, I found myself mentioned on it. I’m delighted. Thank you! Inspiring other people to write inspires me right back!

  11. You never know your luck, Charlotte, you just never know your luck.

  12. Congratulations — and thank you for the list of blogs to peer into.

  13. Ooh, thanks, Charlotte! This put me in such a good mood. I was smiling when I took Kikzy to the playpark this morning.

    I second Yogamum, though, it’s high time I got off this internet and did some writing – then I can blog about it!

    Oh, and I would have chosen you for the best South African blog overseas. You got my vote!

  14. Yes, thanks for the link and now I am even more curious about the others… so I keep running back to the computer inbetween washing, cooking, and having my daily wobblies at the kids. Thanks Charl!

  15. *Beams*

    I am really honoured and totally chuffed.

    *Beams*

  16. Thanks, Ms Lizzy! The same to you too.

    Yes, Ms PB, time to transfer those thoughts into words on a screen for me to read.

    Pleasure, Aphra. I have been reading your series on the doctors with interest. You explain the situation so well. I imagine there will be a lot of South African doctors having to head home soon.

    Emily, you’d be one who makes me think, but you’re already nominated.

    Ms Make Tea, my pleasure. As to the SA Blogs, I do know it’s dominated by a clique. And that’s fine. All power to them.

    Henitserk, I should have had had a list of bloggers who inspire me to be a better parent – you do.

    Jen, oh dear, my geography was never great. One day when I grow up, get a sewing machine and learn to quilt then I’m coming on one of your quilting retreats.

    Nova, your dedication is truly inspiring. Like you, I now want to find myself a writing spot.

    Megan, I’m really not pressuring you … just mentioning now and again how much I love that quilt.

    Thanks Susie, hope you enjoy the links.

    Thanks Helen! Your perseverance with your redraft has been astonishing to watch and inspiring indeed.

    Hi Tanya, enjoy the links …

  17. I am really touched you nominated me too. Wow! How cool, to be nominated as one of the blogs that make you laugh. I feel I have a lot to live up to now.

    *Tries very hard to think of something witty and sparkling and apropos to say. After a while, the onlookers give up waiting and drift away…*

  18. Oh, thanks so much for the linky love! I’m so proud that you got a Thinking Blogger award 🙂

  19. you inspire me too, Charlotte!!!! thank you for thinking of me.

  20. Thanks for the vote Charlotte! I always love reading your blog.

    Your link to the SA blog awards made me laugh – I could almost have substituted the blog names into the exact same (as a SAer would say) post about the Australian blog awards.

  21. Wow there definitely seems to be a whole storm in a teacup around the SA Blog Awards! And I didn’t even know about it until you said you’d nominated me. I really wanted to vote for you in the overseas blog category and couldn’t see any reason why you shouldn’t be there… there does seem to be a proliferation of twenty-something cool kids, not nearly so interesting to me.

    Thanks for including me on your list and for the list itself – it’s given me a whole new bunch of blogs to explore – congratulations on the Thinking Blogger award too – you definitely merit it.

  22. Charlotte,

    Thanks so much for commenting on Amy’s essay: http://www.gnmparents.com/parenting-in-public-a-matter-of-class/ .

    It was validating to her, and it was validating to us as well, to see that we have an active audience that supports our focus.

    GNMParents is still a pretty young site, not even six months old. So we really appreciate you taking the time to participate in the community-building that is our Raison d’Être.

    Thanks,

    Megin and Stu
    http://www.gnmparents.com

  23. Hi Charlotte
    great idea! Its sometimes hard to find interesting content, so your list will be handy.
    P.S. I’m glad some of my posts have made you laugh!
    xxx

  24. Thank you Charlotte! The minute you show up here I will be delighted to put you in the front of a canoe and take you down my favorite river.

  25. Oooh, Charlotte, you are kind. Thank you.

  26. Thanks for the link Charlotte 🙂 If you ever make it to Melbourne you can be sure that the White Chocolate Cheesecake will be on the menu.

  27. Pingback: Thoughtful blogger meme « Penguin unearthed

  28. Pingback: Thinking Blogger Awards « distraction no. 99

Leave a Reply

