Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

My Nablopomo Pledge

10 Comments

Only three more days till I bid farewell to the daily blogging effort I have been putting myself through. I am grateful that I managed to avoid blogging about certain things: the laundry (large neglected piles sobbing in my laundry room), the weather (fleetingly referred to in other contexts), and any weight lost or gained (shameful amounts of chocolate needed to boost inspiration). I enjoyed the feeling of comaraderie with the other Nablo bloggers. I found some great new blogs on the Randomizer. Best of all, I discovered that I can find the time to write daily, while still managing to keep my children fed, not completely neglect my husband and my friends, keep up the day job and occasionally remember to still put on lipstick. I can do it!

So here’s my writing goal for December: I plan to complete a chapter of The Novel. This novel has been haunting me for some years. While pregnant with Ollie I wrote thousands and thousands of words, got so far, fell in hate with my main character (so spineless, so empty, why didn’t I choose a character I LIKED?), left her on the cusp of postnatal depression, where she’s been waiting, bless her, for a couple of years. Then a few months ago, inspired by blogging, I picked up The Novel again. I had what YogaMum describes as A Visit from the Shower Oracle, and decided to tackle the story from the other end, conveniently leaving Ms Main Character still waiting to have her postnatal depression. I have what passes for a beginning and something of an end, and am missing a big old chunk in the middle.

So, to quote Julia Cameron, a writing guru I like, in December I’m going to turn up at the page. I’m going to be there and put some wordage in. I have watched and admired NaNoWriMo bloggers slogging away at their words and I want to be like them. I want to stop toying with The Novel and start working on it. In the name of Nablo Pomo, I pledge to be there, writing in the cracks and corners of my life, just as I have blogged throughout November. You are my witness.

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

10 thoughts on “My Nablopomo Pledge

  1. Yay!!! You can do it, you can do it, you can TOTALLY do it!!

    90% of the battle is just showing up.

    Don’t forget to leave an offering of gratitude to the Shower Oracle. Something other than a hairball…

  2. It’s funny how this month of blogging has been affecting all of us. I made something like the same sort of pledge. I have been swearing to write a book for some time. There was an incredible trauma in our lives and I always felt the story needed to be told. But I never believed in my own writing ability enough to start it. A few days ago, after all the people visiting my blog and making compliments had sunk in for a while, I started the book. So I guess now I have to finish it.

  3. This inspires me so much. You can do it, and I hope I can one day read your novel.

    I like the Nike slogan: “Just do it”. I am a perfectionist and often find myself in the mindset: “If I don’t have time to do it perfectly, I can’t do it at all.” Breaking out of this frame of mind is half the battle for me. If I can sit down for ten minutes and hammer some words down on paper, the rest flows.

    On that note, that is exactly what I am going to do now. I am looking forward to hearing updates on the progress of your novel!!

    Oh, and the middle is the hardest part, isn’t it? That’s where I am right now…

  4. Good for you Charlotte. Not sure it would be the kind of book I would read but then I am a technical geek guy who reads Crichton, Grisham, Clancy et al.

    But you go for it and I look forward to seeing it in my local Waterstones window one day soon.

  5. Now this is great news. I just know this is going to be good, interesting and just plain beautiful writing.

  6. Yay! That’s wonderful! Tying one’s bottom to the chair and forcing oneself to stop staring into space is the only way I know to get a bit of writing done. But that’s just the question of productivity. I have every faith in what you will produce, Charlotte. It’s very exciting to find so many of my blogbuddies taking on these significant projects.

  7. Well thanks for the encouragement, all you nice folks. It’s time for me to stop paying lip service to my writing dream.

  8. The Shower Oracle? For YEARS I’ve been wondering who visits me with fantastic story ideas when pen and paper are nowhere nearby! She must be cousing to the Muse of Rambling Strolls…’cause we all get visits from her too, no?

  9. Oh yes and: GOOD FOR YOU CHARLOTTE!!! I have no doubt that once you pick your novel up and start writing, it’s going to be nearly impossible to tear you away. You’ll be at that big, South African wooden kitchen table, tap-tap-taping away, Tom will come in and say: Charlotte, darling! Don’t you think it’s time you got some rest love?” “Five more minutes Tom. Just give me five more minutes!” 🙂

  10. December is sure to be a truly exceptional month. I can’t wait to hear how it goes…!

Leave a Reply

