Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

The Good, the Bad and the Iffy

9 Comments

It was looking to be a pig of a day – the headache I woke with was welling up into another migraine, I had to make sure Ollie was asleep so that I could interview someone in China, then collect the girls, rush home for a high-speed lunch and get Daisy off to ballet. Worst of all, I could not fall down and phone my lovely husband to come and rescue me as he was telling the HR types in Geneva how to manage their human capital or somesuch.

Somewhere along the long, long line of today, I decided that feeling sorry for myself was going to be a waste of time. Instead I decided to feel grateful. And here are some of things I was grateful for today:

  • Ollie slept. I was able to conduct my interview with the person in China. He woke early, so I couldn’t finish it, but she kindly agreed to answer the last three questions via email.
  • I went to the doctor. He gave me drugs from his cupboard, so that I didn’t have to go to the chemist.
  • The first drug didn’t work. The second one did.
  • My children behaved like angels and ate their lunch alone, while I lay groaning on the sofa.
  • By the time we had to leave for ballet, I was starting to feel human again. Daisy said, “You look better, Mummy.”
  • When we went out, the sun shone, the sky was blue and the beautiful trees were all yellow.
  • While Daisy danced, we went to a playground. Lily practised her balancing and Ollie did some sliding and walking on a low wall, all the while saying “Tum, Mummy.”
  • Later we had walk through the fields with some friends. The children rode their bikes. The evening sun swum low over the horizon and gilded everything.
  • When we got home the key I thought I had lost was still in the door.
  • The night-night process was peaceful, and best of all …
  • It’s 8.30pm and I am now in bed.
Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

9 thoughts on “The Good, the Bad and the Iffy

  1. Sleep well. You have all my sympathies for those migraines. Glad the day had its good points.

  2. The more I read and hear, the more grateful I am that God has not seen fit to afflict me with migraines.

    Hope you have a better day tomorrow, although it seems like today managed to rise from the horror it was starting to be.

  3. Just thought I’d say hi as I’m trying to visit and comment on as many of the NaBloPoMo blogs as I can. 🙂

    There is something about the late-day sun that is very calming; if only the clouds would clear away for a while…

  4. Your post inspired me. I had a horrible day yesterday and went into “poor me” mode. By the end of the day you’d have thought I was starring in a full-scale tragedy, I was in such a weary mood. Did the Angst get me anywhere? Absolutely not! Today I am looking out for all the good things that are happening around me and I may just nick your idea and post about them tomorrow.

    Your children sound like absolute little darlings. I love what Ollie said: “Tum, Mummy!”

  5. And todays medal for unsung heroism goes to Charlotte… I hope there’s a special premium-rate category in heaven for working mothers, because we really, really deserve it.

  6. I do hope that you’re feeling better today. It sounds like the universe was on your side, just a little, when you needed it most.

  7. Thanks everyone for the kind comments. Things weren’t as bad as they as if they were going to get, but I did say to my friend as we walked along, with four children on bikes, and two in prams, that I would just like to know when my reward is coming. I hope I don’t have to wait as long as heaven!

  8. Very inspirational. Good for you. I had a bad headache this morning, and it stunk and I can’t even imagine what a migraine would be like.

  9. Pingback: A Was Alarmed » Blog Archive » Twenty-Five Things I’m Happy About

Leave a Reply

