Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

A Gender Meme

11 Comments

Oh, and I was worrying about what I was going to post today, and then I went to What We Said and found Mandarine’s Gender Meme. The world of bloggery is just packed with inspiration! I have been meming quite a lot lately, and I apologise, remembering with shame the days when I would just scornfully delete email memes that arrived in my inbox, but there we are, it’s fun and it’s keeping Mr Pomo away (he’s still muttering in his cave). This one also ties in with my Mars/Venus rant of a couple of days ago, and I think it’s supposed to reveal our inbuilt cultural and sexual prejudices, so it’s not always pretty. Here goes:

1. Three things you do that women usually do

Cook. Shop. Preen.

2. Three things you do that men usually do

Take out the rubbish. Carry in the groceries. Drive long distance and at night.

3. Three things you do that women usually don’t do

Scratch my bum without realising I’m doing it. Expect my husband to do the remembering and phoning for his family’s birthdays and anniversaries. Refuse to feel guilty if he forgets.

4. Three things you do that men usually don’t do

Hormonal eating. Remind myself to make sure a child has clean socks for the morning. Worry if everyone has had their five-a-day today.

5. Three things you don’t do that women usually do

Worry about the size of my bum. Wax. Give myself long and attentive manicures.

6. Three things you don’t do that men usually do

Mow the lawn. Change the oil. Hog the remote.

7. Three things you don’t do that women usually don’t do

Mow down other drivers with my Bondmobile. Focus on one extremely important something to the total detriment of all other somethings. Hold forth on my favourite theme to a rapt audience, warm to my topic, not notice the glazing, go up a gear, not sense that many are now asleep, finish and expect grateful applause from the one person left alive in the room.

8. Three things you don’t do that men usually don’t do

Clean the bath after I’ve used it. Collect my fingernail clippings after I have clipped them. Iron work shirts.

I now tag Pillowblogger, Funky Uncle Mustard and you!

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

11 thoughts on “A Gender Meme

  1. Ooh, thanks! Now I can do this instead of cleaning the bathroom!

    Yes, I am so with you on not remembering the husband’s family’s birthdays. We’re still locked in a battle of the wills over this after being married for 7 years. He’s still saying: “But it’s your job to remember.” I’m still saying: “No. No. It isn’t.”

    Mind you, I am currently looking at a pile of Christmas cards I went out and bought for him and now have to coax him into writing.

  2. This is hysterical. Great answers! I just did two memes in a row…I’ll have to do this one after Thanksgiving!

  3. I knew this would be fun.

  4. .. I think I spent more time working out the question than enjoying your answers Charl, but I loved the bum scratching! You are funny.

  5. Isn’t this a fabulous meme! Love your answers. I’ve forgotten what a remote control looks like…

  6. I’d have a hard time working out my answers to those questions, working out all those double negatives – anyway I discovered from a book of that genre that my brain is masculine wired and my husband’s is more female wired so we compensate well for each other – he can multi task and I can’t for starters!

  7. alright. . .I’ll find a way to respond. . .but on MY terms! 🙂

  8. Hi Charlotte! I stumbled upon your blog via Sharon J’s Five Things page. I’m sure glad I did because you have one thoroughly entertaining blog! Keep at it! Have a great weekend ahead. =)

  9. Pingback: Gender meme « Penguin unearthed

  10. Pingback: A Was Alarmed » Blog Archive » A Man or a Woman?

  11. Pingback: An update on the gender meme « What We Said

Leave a Reply

