Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

Dreaming of Evil Dwarves

13 Comments

Oh, I didn’t sleep well last night. My dreams were disturbed by an evil dwarf, who, grinning maniacally, whispered of extra responsibilities that would weigh me down, of impaired creativity and of vapid words. He was not kind; he was not comforting; he was my inner editor brought to horrid life. His name: Nablo Pomo. Mr Pomo will be sitting on my shoulder for all of November, cackling and pointing out all the holes in my prose.

nablopomo_yoda_120×2401.jpg

Luckily, I am not alone. Some brave souls are coming with me. Here’s a list of my fellow blogmeisters who are participating in this month of madness:

Aphra Behn, Cat’s Corner, The Public, the Private and Everything In Between, Healing Magic Hands, Food-And-Family, Make Tea Not War, The White Elephant, White Thoughts, YogaMum

(Please let me know if I’ve left you off the list – I will go back and add names.)

YogaMum is trouncing all of us in her commitment to mental anguish by signing up not only for NaBloPoMo, but also for its big sister NaNoWriMo – National Novel Writing Month. You go, girl!

Anway, please support us all and help to keep us sane by writing the odd soothing comment.

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

13 thoughts on “Dreaming of Evil Dwarves

  1. OMG, you would not believe how panicked I am! Come to my blog and watch me self-destruct over the new few weeks…

  2. I like the idea of an inner editor… I think mine is very evil and always carries a whip.

  3. I’m wondering what I’ve let myself in for – thought I’d be organised and write my post early in the day and here I am at ten o’clock struggling with uploading a photo to uncooperative blogger and now wondering am I supposed to post the NaBloPoMo thing every single post too? Hey it’ll be cool – it’s all about unleashing creativity right?! Evil dwarves called Nablo PoOmo sound like they have a story in them!

  4. You’ll be great. It’ll be great. I think it’s marvellous.

    Excuse me, I have 1500 words to churn out before midnight. As much as I adore visiting you guys, my own Editor (Nano Writhing-in-anxst) is coming to get me with a net and trident.

  5. Oh! Oh! Oh! I’m in a cohort! How exciting!

    I have an inner editrice, but then I would. She’s a cross between a dominatrix and a cockatrice and, fortunately, is so confused that she spends her time trying to attach handcuffs to her own tail and thus forgets to cast her beady eye over my fequently byzantine prose.

    While she’s doing that, I’ll get me coat.

  6. Just popping in to give moral blogging support! You can do it!

  7. You go girl! I think the idea is just to turn off the inner editor. At the moment anyway I’m perfectly comfortable of just posting any old free association that springs to mind but I very have low standards… and will be expecting much better of you Ms Charlotte!! 😉

  8. Oops. the typo quean strikes again. Actually I meant…At the moment anyway I’m perfectly comfortable with just posting any old free association that springs to mind but I have very low standards

    Carry on.

  9. I find that offering my inner editor some chocolate and a cup of coffee (and failing that, a good stiff drink) sedates it a little bit. Not a lot but enough 🙂

    I’m not sure whether that’d be acceptable to Nablo Pomo but it couldn’t hurt.

  10. *Takes out scissors and scratch paper and starts working on homemade pom-poms*

    Nablo Pomo needs a sock stuffed in his mouth. 🙂

  11. Great name for an inner editor. You just keep going, Charlotte.

  12. LOL! Have to watch out for those evil dwarves.

  13. Hey, thanks for putting me in your list! Me I’ve been thinking about “hobgoblins” for some reason…

Leave a Reply

