Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

Five Things You Might Not Know About Charlotte

19 Comments

This is via Helen – a list of things about myself other bloggers might not know. The idea is to develop a repository of people who may be subject matter experts in certain areas, not necessarily professional ones, so that other writers will have a wealth of research material to dip into …

… and it’s just another chance for navel-gazing, which I can never resist.

So, here are five things you might not know about Charlotte:

  1. I have a phobic fear of legless critters – worms, snakes and fish. I can eat fish, but only if it is shaped like a rectangle. I can’t eat worms or snakes.
  2. I am obsessed with travel. I have lived in Pietermaritzburg, Johannesburg, Cape Town, London (twice), Atlanta Georgia, and various small towns near Heidelberg, Germany. This year I have been to Italy, France, South Africa, England and will shortly go to Switzerland. Next year I hope to go to California, Corsica and South Africa. I believe I will keep moving for the rest of my life.
  3. I have had two home births, one accidental and one planned.
  4. I have meditated on and off for 25 years. I believe that I have spirit guides and angels in close companionship and that meditation brings me closer to them. They have also been near me in times of difficulty, and when this happens, I smell roses. I also believe in reincarnation and the rule of karma.
  5. I have suffered from cracked heels my whole life. I have recently discovered that two tablespoons of walnut oil per day cures them.

Consider yourself tagged!

P.S. Here’s the list of participants from Sharon. She asked us to include this:

Remember that it isn’t always the sensational stuff that writers are looking for, it can just as easily be something that you take for granted like having raised twins or knowing how to grow beetroot. Mind you,  if you do know how to fly a helicopter or have worked as a film extra, do feel free to let the rest of us know about it!

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

19 thoughts on “Five Things You Might Not Know About Charlotte

  1. I like the rectangular fish image!
    I also have had two out of three home births, though both intended, the last one was so quick it was just as well we’d planned it that way! I wish I’d your track record in meditation though, only fairly recently got in touch with my spirituality – reincarnation definitely makes sense to me, karma, angels and the whole lot.
    I’d love to meet up if you are coming to Cape Town on your next trip out.
    I’ll try to think up five more things about me to take on the tag.Having recently done the five weird things about me meme, though, I may be running out of material!

  2. Do you drink the walnut oil or rub it on your heels? Because mine are cracked, too!

  3. Kit – would love to meet up when I’m next in Cape Town! Yogamum, sorry I should have said I drink it. It’s a little strange drinking oil, but it also helps with appetite suppression. Im doing it as part of the Shangri-La diet. The benefit to my heels is a happy side-effect.

  4. I’d like to know about the walnut oil too. None of the creams I use on my heels work.

  5. Oh, now I’ve read your comment, we must have been typing at the same time!

  6. Walnut oil! What a terrific thing to learn about. If you come to northern California, let me know. We can sit in a cafe and you can tell me about all those places I’ve never been.

  7. Ah, I see. I bet that does help with skin issues!

  8. If we just read this are we tagged? I guess I am tagged.

  9. Yogamum, Helen, BlogLily, the walnut oil is great, and I think it’s having a good effect on hair and skin too. BL – if I make it to California next year, I will definitely look you up. Ms Magic Hands, you are tagged, and so is anyone else who feels like a little silliness of a weekend.

  10. Charlotte – fascinating information! What with Emily’s literary meme and this cute little Q and A I am spoilt for fun blog posts to follow!

  11. Oh goody, yet another subject for a post that won’t require too much thinking on my part. I’m obsessed with travel, too, and am so happy to read about someone else who is. Lately, it seems, I keep meeting all these people who hate to travel.

  12. Thanks for taking part 🙂

    How I wish I could travel as extensively as you have but my health makes it difficult for me. I haven’t given up though and intend to visit as many places as is possible for me.

    I also meditate.

  13. Pingback: Five things you didn’t know about me « Relaxed Parents

  14. Wow, I like the roses thing! And the walnut oil thing… love it when I discover happy side effects when I wasn’t expecting it; being a smartie-pants without having put any effort in…

  15. Along the oil thing, your experience matches my mother’s, who swallowed a spoonful each of olive oil and safflower oil daily for some allergy diet once, and she said she stopped needing a moisturiser, and it balanced her skin wonderfully. (It does strike me as much more sensible to get out skin care from within and not these overpriced potions with a forty unpronouncable ingredients..)

  16. Pingback: Meeeeme it like you mean it. « Make Tea Not War

  17. Pingback: Jumping on the meme-wagon « White Thoughts No One Sees

  18. Pingback: Five Things My Husband Is Pretty Sure You Don’t Know About Me « BlogLily

  19. Pingback: Five things « Penguin unearthed

Leave a Reply

