Charlotte's Web

Blogging my world since 2006

Moving On

7 Comments

So my little book is out in the world, and is doing a good job of gathering some reviews. The best reviews, however, are the emails and Facebook messages I get from readers, telling me they love the book and that they love Maggie. Maggie is a difficult character as she is obstreperous and bull-headed. However, she has a much-hidden and well-covered soft centre, and this becomes evident during the course of the story.

I am not moving on from Maggie.

I am moving on from marketing Balthasar’s Gift as my main literary activity. My new literary activity is writing book two – the next in the Maggie series. It is called Karkloof Blue, after a rare and threatened butterfly, and it is an eco-conspiracy. What has changed since I wrote the (many) early drafts of BG is that I now work full-time and squeezing writing into the cracks between my job, my family and the friends I can’t resist seeing is hard.

However, hard doesn’t get books written.

So, since July 1, I’ve been getting up at dawn to write for two hours. Actually it’s pre-dawn. 4.30 am. The skies are still dark and only the bravest bird has started mentioning breakfast. By the time I finish, and head downstairs to wake my family at 6.30am, the skies have lightened and a cacophony of birds are discussing their first meal.

I try to write 1,000 words every morning. It doesn’t always work, but we’re getting there, Maggie and I.

Author: charlotteotter

Novelist, feminist, crime writer

7 thoughts on “Moving On

  1. Wow! I admire your dedication, it’s made me think I need to work harder with some of the challenges I currently face, in particular learning a second language! Good luck with the book!

  2. Wow, Charlotte, you and Maggie are very resolute getting up before the birds even. Glad to hear it though as I can’t wait to hear more from you both!

  3. I’m impressed. I’ve been thinking about doing something similar (getting up earlier, not writing a book!) I’m already so tired, but I have a suspicion that getting a couple of hours of uninterrupted focus time might actually give me more energy. Be that as it may, I’m really looking forward to reading about Maggie again :-)

  4. You are truly superwoman, Charlotte. I just can’t imagine unpeeling myself from bed at 4.30 am to write and then do a full day’s work.
    Novel No. 2 sounds so exciting. I love the idea of an eco-conspiracy story, so please don’t forget my offer to beta-read :-)

  5. Your dedication is very inspirational. Maggie must be a compelling influence in your life, to demand that you get up so early in order to midwife her birth onto the page. I still look forward to reading Balthazar’s Gift.

  6. ugh…4:30…I know this is what I am going to have to do as I move forward with my writing life but…ugh. It might have to be five a.m. – that I can handle. So impressed with you!

  7. Wow, I agree with earlier comments. Seriously impressive, Charlotte. Now I just feel like a total slacker!!! Great keeping up to date on FB but even better seeing your blog is alive and well even though you’ve been so busy promoting BG – well done you! I am all admiration and now your debut is available in English, I’m really looking forward to reading it! Xx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 187 other followers